Need help Choosing between HDD and Fusion Drive

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jsposito.md, Aug 10, 2013.

1. Jsposito.md macrumors newbie

I'm interested in buying 27" iMac. I am a casual photographer (not too much editing, mostly in iPhoto but hope to learn aperture). I have a library of close to 30,000 pictures and growing. I'd like to spend between $2,000-2,300 so was thinking about the 2.9GHz with upgraded 3TB Fusion drive to add speed and storage. Any opinions? Will that size library even fit on the flash portion of the storage to make the fusion useful? I know the computer automatically picks what goes to flash storage. Does anyone know if it looks as iPhoto and the library as one big file or could just certain libraries be on the flash part that are more frequently used. Also, has anyone had problems with the fusion drive? seems like some reviews indicated it isn't proven technology yet and people are worried it could fail.

2. flynz4 macrumors 68040

Definitely do not get the HDD option.

iPhoto/Aperture libraries are NOT one big file... they are just made to look that way. They are a "package"... and if you right click on the library and select "show package contents"... you can see the entire file structure below.

Regardless... FD does not operate at the file level. It works as the block level. Typically files would span multiple blocks. So... only the most used blocks are moved to the SSD.

FD will be (and feel) much faster than a HDD.

If your photography increases to the point that you want more performance... it is trivial to move your entire library to an external SSD in the future.

I personally went for the 768GB SSD... because I wanted my Aperture library on the SSD... but that is more expensive so you need to make your own decision on its value.

/Jim

3. abercrombie macrumors regular

abercrombie