Need help choosing graphics card on mac pro for video editing.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ryanlaing, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. ryanlaing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #1
    Hi.

    I'm going to be getting a mac pro sometime soon, mainly for video editing. Ive heard that the basic video card that comes with the computer right now is pretty crappy, but since I'm not going to be gaming much i was wondering if i should still upgrade or not. I'll mostly be using the final cut studio 2 stuff they just came out with, maybe a little bit of 3D stuff, but not too much. So anyone who knows more about how important graphics cards are for rendering video and all that, any advice would be helpful.

    Thanks.
     
  2. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #2
    Go with the Ati Card, X1900
    512mb
    Should work perfectly.

    :)
     
  3. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    I'm not a "serious" video editor but I have found the basic 7300 GT suitable for my needs.

    No doubt the X1900 recommended by fivetoadsloth having 512 Mb of video ram would be more desirable.

    FJ
     
  4. marvinsum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    #4
    How important is the video card for video editing? I know it doesn't do anything for apps like photoshop and aperture.
     
  5. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    As far as I know the video card does most of the rendering and video processing.

    But as I often say "I could be wrong ...... I usually am" :mad:

    FJ
     
  6. spetznatz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #6
    The video Card accelerates OpenGL and 2D scrolling speeds -- and even then in 3D a lot of the geometry calcculations are handled by the processor.

    Be aware that if you put the X1900 in you'll not see much difference between it and the stock GeF7300. Where you will see a difference is in gaming frame rates they should approximately double.

    But, as you've said you don't play games (me neither).

    Also be aware that if you choose the X1900 you'll transform your beautifully quiet Mac Pro into a screaming, rattling wheezebox. The fan reall is that noisy.
     
  7. strydr macrumors 6502

    strydr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    I have a 2.66 Quad with the ATI card. No noisy problems for me. In fact, after the initial boot up, I hardly hear the system at all. Maybe you should get your system checked out..
     
  8. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    The place where having a good graphics card comes into play is when you use Motion, and especially now that Final Cut Studio 2 has Motion 3 which is now a 3D based app.

    If you are looking at this side of video editing the ATI card will pay off. It will not help however with standard video editing, only with the special effects side of things.
     
  9. spaz8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #9
    Get the 1900 over the 7300... if u look at the system recommendations for FCS2 the 1900 is all over the place..
     
  10. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #10
    If you can hold out a bit longer, I know ATI is releasing their new cards this month, or so go the rumors. Perhaps by the end of May, or even during the WWDC we may see updated Mac Pros with different video card options.
     
  11. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #11
    The same with me. In fact, I just recently upgraded my memory and was testing the system with the door off. I was within 3 ft of the 1900. It fired up, went back down and the noise was barely perceptible. I never hear noise from the MP.
     
  12. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #12
    In a perfectly silent environment the x1900 DOES at noise to the system. It makes it a good bit louder then without it. However the system is still way quieter then a PC.
     
  13. dartzorichalcos macrumors 65816

    dartzorichalcos

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Atlantis
    #13
    What about the expensive Nvidia Quadro FX 4500 card? How does it compare against the ATI Radeon X1900 XT?
     
  14. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #14
    It performs slightly better then the x1900 but NOT worth it unless you need those features it provides.
     
  15. dartzorichalcos macrumors 65816

    dartzorichalcos

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Atlantis
    #15
    Thanks, that's how I thought it would be.
     
  16. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #16
    Only in certain situations though. It is a very specialised piece of hardware.
     
  17. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #17
    I have the 1900, and yeah its a good card... but... the fan is a little loud. I know that when I hear the fan, its that card, but my Mac Pro is in a hole/slide in cupboard thing, so the noise gains an echo/reverb... nice..
     
  18. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    Make sure the pro has adequate ventilation or the 4 fans in the pro will be working hard as well as the fan on your graphic card. :(

    FJ
     
  19. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #19
    FYI - the video card is actually VERY important for Aperture. VERY. Aperture uses the GPU for a lot of it's work. I also heard last week that CS3 is using some of the GPU if you have enough of it there to use. Need to follow up on that though.

    But CS2 - doesn't use it. Aperture - yes.
     
  20. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #20
    Apples "core" APIs are using the GPU more and more. Apple's applications are moving to using the core APIs. They are not all there yet. Maybe Leopard will move this process along farther. The way Core Image works is for each function it looks to see which would be faster the CPU or the GPU and then goes with the faster one. It is so unpredictable that Apple designed it so that it checks on your system rather than hard coding it. Will Studio 3 use the GPU? Cerainly Motion will. Will the new FCP?

    One option is to simply buy the stock" graphic card and reserve the option to upgrade later. The longer you wait to upgrade the better the upgade will be as next year I'm sure they will have faster and cheap cards
     

Share This Page