Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Brittanydavie

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 11, 2011
I'm a graphic designer and I need a notebook that will perform well with Illustrator, InDesign, Photoshop etc. I'm thinking about waiting to purchase until Apple does the new refresh on their laptops but who knows when that will be. So given what they have what do you guys think is the best screen size and all for my needs? Mac Pro or Air? Any other specs I should consider?

thundersteele

macrumors 68030
Oct 19, 2011
Switzerland
15'' high-res or 17'' MBP, with antiglare screen. Upgrade RAM to 8 GB (cheaper if you do it yourself), consider upgrading to a SSD if the finances allow it.

CPU speed doesn't matter too much - the base models are fine.

skier777

macrumors 6502
Jul 3, 2010
Pro. Get the 15 or 17 inch, and spec it up until you are constrained by your budget.

I run PS, ID and AI CS5 on a 2010 i7 so you shouldn't have any problem with the new ones. Get 8GB of ram though, it makes a huge difference.

I disagree about the antiglare screen, but i just prefer doing photoshop on the glossy screen. Both look great once you calibrate them.

No Regrets

macrumors regular
Dec 14, 2011
I went to my local Best Buy last night to compare the 15" and the 17". All they had were glossy's, no anti-glare.

When comparing photos from dpreview, I could not tell any difference in image quality between the two.

However, when trying to read the text on forums such as this and others, I found the font to be quite a bit smaller on the 17" vs the 15". So much so that if "I" were to go with the 17" I would need to use my reading glasses to prevent undue eye strain.

The other difference I noticed were that the built in speakers are much nicer on the 17" pro vs the 15".