Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

celebrian23

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 12, 2006
Under the sun
Usually it's the parent who wants to save money and the kid who wants the most expensive model, but my case is reversed. For my graduation, I was allowed to pick any laptop under 2000. After some time, I decided the macbook was better for my needs- the games I play don't use 3D graphics, I'm not a professional or someone who needs top performance on professional applications and I think the macbook is just a great college laptop. Because I insisted on the mbp for 3 months, my dad doesn't want me to get the macbook. He says I'm making a huge mistake and I'll regret it. What should I do?

sb58

macrumors 6502a
May 14, 2006
Hades
just get the mbp. it couldn't hurt to have more than you need right? but if it turns out later you want to do something that the macbook wouldn't let you, you will regret it.

Temujin

macrumors 6502a
Oct 1, 2005
Copenhagen
Accept the offer. Bigger screen + resolution and a better case IMO.
In class the 13" might be a better choice. But when at home you will appreciate the bigger 15" screen.
The better graphics might come in handy some day when you need the power. Future games, video etc.

If the price difference doesn't bother your parents then go for the MBP. Why not?

celebrian23

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 12, 2006
Under the sun
The mbp is too problem ridden for me. And I shall never play 3D games. I am a minimalist- I'd rather get more HDD and RAM then get the stock MBP.

Xander562

macrumors 68000
Apr 2, 2006
wow this is a rare case indeed, perhaps you could work out a compromise of some sort? idk. you just need to talk to them and explain that the MB is perfect for your needs and the MBP would be simply a waste of money. either way you'll get an amazing machine and good luck.

Temujin

macrumors 6502a
Oct 1, 2005
Copenhagen
celebrian23 said: