need help deciding between a MacBook Pro or a MacBook Air...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Smiller4128, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Smiller4128 macrumors member

I'm aware that there's probably a thousand of these but everyone's needs are different and with this being a forum and all I decide to make my own post ont his topic.

So I’m trying to decide what MacBook would be best for me. A 13" Macbook Air or a 17" macbook Pro? This decision has been killing me and I need as much help on it as I can get.

Here’s a quick run-down on what my uses are:

-Safari/Google Chrome
    -iMail
    -ITunes (I like listening to a lot of music whenever I’m on my laptop)
    -iPhoto – I have a Canon 60D that I use to do some photography as a hobby, I’m not a pro by any means it’s just meant for a little extra fun and sometimes I do some fun enhancements to my photos like adding a couple of effects, etc. but nothing major by any means. However, I am picky when it comes to the color of my photos. But as long as the colors are nice and accurate than I have no problem.
    -Vuze – Most of you know what this is already so no need to explain however I do encode everything so that’ll be compatible to stream it to my Apple TV.
    -Handbrake
    -Mac App Store (I like to buy and play the occasional games such as Angry Birds Space, etc.)

Here’s the thing, which ever macbook I decide to go with, it’ll be my ONLY computer. In other words, I don’t have a desktop or anything else at all so this will be my ONLY computer. With that in mind, I just want to know which macbook would be better for me the 13” Macbook Air or the 17” Macbook Pro. And yes I’m aware of the HUGE difference between the two. I’m just someone that believes in getting the top-of-the line model…if you’re gonna do something, go big lol. I’m just trying to figure out which macbook line would be best for me.

2. getz76 macrumors 6502a

getz76

Both will do all of those tasks without issue.