Need help getting internet on iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rumorsdan, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. rumorsdan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #1
    I'm trying to get internet on my iphone via my home adsl connection. I've got a standard adsl modem (no router) with a direct ethernet connection to my imac (early 2009 model) running 10.6.8. I thought the process would simply be to turn on internet sharing in system prefs and set a network. Since the imac has airport extreme built in. The iphone see's the network but can't connect. I just get the spinning circle animation.

    Can anyone help sort this out?
     
  2. blhoward2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #2
    This is a terrible way to connect for many reason. Go buy a wifi router. They're not that expensive.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2016 ---
    This is a terrible way to connect for many reason. Go buy a wifi router. They're not that expensive.
     
  3. rumorsdan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #3
    Can you tell me why?
     
  4. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #4
    Have a read through this and see if you've followed all the steps.

    I use a router now BUT I used my iMac for years ... there's nothing wrong with using it OTHER than you need your computer on at all times.
     
  5. blhoward2, Sep 22, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2016

    blhoward2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #5
    This is a terrible way to connect for many reason. Go buy a wifi router. They're not that expensive.
    Not sure why that posted so many times.

    Speed is the biggest issue. Also I believe you're restricted to less secure encryption. Terrible redundancy and compatibility (you're current problem). Terrible range. And your security is much worse because the router isn't acting as a firewall between you and the internet.

    It's really just not designed to be used that way all the time.
     
  6. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #6
    dude, go get a wifi router thats some janky way of connecting. plus wireless allows all your devices freedom
     
  7. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #7

    It's not like you're dragging the iMac all over the house. And the signal range is just fine. Be minimalist.
     
  8. rumorsdan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #8
    no link?
     
  9. rumorsdan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #10

Share This Page