Need help identifying an IP

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Rich1963, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. Rich1963 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #1
    Here's the situation-

    I need help in identifying an unknown IP address on my home residential network. I am certain it is NOT a network intrusion via wireless as I have rolled the SSID and password several times, and it keeps reappearing instantly upon adding everything back. I have the following items in my network-

    -Time capsule
    -qwest DSL router/wireless access point
    -HP7410 wireless printer
    -AppleTV
    -iMac
    -iphone

    The qwest router does not have the wireless component turned on. It also assigns all of the IP via DHCP. The time capsule has the wireless component turned on, and is transmitting at 2.4 Ghz in a 802.11 g/n mode. The imac is connected via ethernet, but does have airport switched on, although it is not the primary connection, the ethernet is. The time capsule is set in bridged mode. The AppleTV is connected via ethernet. An iphone is also connected wirelessly and is accounted for via it's IP.

    This errant IP is seen on the Qwest router under the LAN table heading. I have accounted for each device's IP. The problem is that the Qwest router identifies every item connected to the time capsule as wired, because as far as the Qwest router is concerned, it is. Also, the network topography is as follows - the Qwest router connectes to the time capsule. The mac and the AppleTV connect to the time capsule via ethernet. The iphone and printer connect via 802.11 g/n.

    I have tried shutting down the AppleTV, printer, and iphone but to no avail. The mystery IP remains. Is the time capsule disk treated separately, thus given it's own IP? Is it possible another device has two IPs (even though I've checked through each and each reports it's corresponding IP)? What else can I do to identify it?

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #2
    The TC itself will have an IP address. Is it possible that this is what the errant IP is?
     
  3. Rich1963 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #3
    I've accounted for that one (the time capsule). That's why I was wondering if the disk in the time capsule is assigned one as well?

    It appeared shortly after I hooked everything up to the new router from qwest. It was there before and I hadn't given it much thought. But now it's nagging me, and I'm also planning on adding several other items and would like to get this straightened out.

    I have hit it with 'whois' but the data makes no sense to me. I am thinking about disconnecting the wireless from the time capsule and seeing what happens. Then just deleting the time capsule entirely. The problem is that in 'bridged mode' the time capsule won't tell you squat about what it is hooked up to. Unless I'm missing something...
     
  4. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #4
    Obvious test #1: turn off the Time Capsule.

    Obvious test #2: turn off all wireless.

    The only other possibility I can think of is that some other device is also acting as a DHCP server, perhaps on what it considers its own subnet.

    You should also consider posting your router's model name/number, and the contents of the 'whois' response. Saying that it makes no sense to you doesn't give anyone any data that might make sense to them.
     
  5. Rich1963 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #5
    Those actions were already my plan this weekend. I will also post the 'whois' info tonight. Thanks guys.
     
  6. Rich1963 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #6
    A little more info. I noticed that on istat pro (the widget) it has this ip address listed under the heading "airport-en1". When I turn off the wireless airport feature on the menu bar, this menu on istat goes away. Turn it back on, it comes back. Is this the IP address of the airport router in the time capsule, or a separate IP address for the mac's airport wireless networking? The time capsule already has a different address....
     
  7. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    So your iMac is hardwired AND the AirPort wifi card is turned on? If so, the IP address belongs to your iMac's AirPort card. It's joining your network both wirelessly AND via ethernet. Disable your AirPort card on your iMac and the IP address will disappear.
     
  8. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #8
    If your iMac is connected via wireless and wired, it will have 2 IP addresses. Each connection gets an IP.
     
  9. Rich1963 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #9
    Bingo Skorpien! I actually figured this out Friday night when I took a long look at iStat widget and saw the two IP's there. The reason I had such a conundrum figuring this out is that my Qwest DSL modem/router LAN table doesn't clear out an IP address that disappears. It takes approximately 5-10 minutes for it to 'un-assign' an IP so it was not just a matter disconnecting the device and seeing it vanish.

    Thanks everyone. Merry Christmas!
     

Share This Page