Need help in capturing PS2/PS3/Xbox 360 video on my Macbook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Khryz, Oct 12, 2007.

1. Khryz macrumors 6502a

I've been searching around the forums here to see how I can capture video from my game systems to put online but so far I've found the Elgato Systems are the only choices for Mac. That's fine. I'm new to Macs, and generally a novice in terms of computers.

I would really appreciate it if someone could give me the products I would need to be able to pull this off. I haven't found any threads that go into specific details on what to get.

Thanks everyone.

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

1. Do you want a TV tuner?
    2. Do you want a video capture box?

3. Khryz thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thank you for your quick reply. The thing is, I'm not familiar with either or them, so I don't really know the difference.

4. kuebby macrumors 68000

kuebby

5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

Very well.

Do you need a capture device that can handle television signals as well as a composite and S-Video inputs?

Or do you need one that is device that can only take composite and S-Video inputs?

6. Khryz thread starter macrumors 6502a

You lost me, :confused: lol

I don't know what any of that means. Basically, I just want to know the options that I have, seeing as though I have a Macbook, to be able to capture high quality video from a TV and record it on my computer somehow. I don't know what programs to use on my Mac, don't know what equipment to use.

I did find this youtube video, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q9eMgZ92rVw

.. which outlines an Elgato EyeTV set-up, but it costs over $200. I'm only going to be using it for recording video games and possibly a few TV shows, so I don't think that's worth it.

What about recording the TV show to a camcorder, and then uploading it to the computer? There has to be some cheaper ways to capture video.

7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian