Need help, Installing XP

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by djearlybird, Aug 20, 2007.

  1. djearlybird macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #1
    Quick question, I am at the screen (windows install disk) where you select what partition you want to install XP on. For some reason, it is only showing 1 partition, the C: drive, and I know this is not where I want to install xp on, because it is the Mac OSX. I set aside a 15gb partition, and that is not listed in the partition selector. Only thing that is showing is the C: drive and thats close to 200gb. What can I do?

    by the way, I am on page 12 of the apple guide for bootcamp, thanks :apple:

    Here is a picture of what I see during the install
     
  2. askywalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    #2
    I am a Mac noob, but just went through this yesterday. I could have sworn I selected the C: partition - I don't think the Mac labels it's partition 'C'.

    Good luck with it. I am amazed how well Windows is running on my MBP 2.4 GHZ. Though I am already craving more than the 2 GB cause I am enjoying Fusion and the Mac apps so much.

    Hoping someone else will answer more definitively for you.. Good luck with it.
     
  3. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #3
    Is There A Tutorial For Dummies With Original XP Needs SP 2

    I am clueless how to do this. Do we have a tutorial for dummies? Link please? :confused:
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    did you format the partition with bootcamp installer? or did you format it yourself? it should show up, if it doesnt, is say that it didnt format for some reason

    all partitions should show in the installer, regardless of their format. the OSX partitions will show their size, but will say that theyre been unformatted.
     
  5. djearlybird thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #5
    I made the partition in the bootcamp installer. However when I reboot with the windows disc in to install, and get to the partitiion screen, it only shows 1 huge partition instead of the 2 I should be seeing.:confused:
     
  6. djearlybird thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    ok so thats saying that there really isnt 2 partitions at all!!! i donno why there isnt two?? thats very odd..
     
  8. djearlybird thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #8
    yea, i'm stumped :(
     
  9. djearlybird thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #9
    Problem solved. The reason I was having the problem is because my copy of XP wasn't with service pack 2. Once I got a copy with SP2, everything installed normally. :apple:
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    :) glad you figured it out :) enjoy wateva your doing in winblows
     
  11. djearlybird thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #11
    Only using it for my cell phone software to upload music/download pictures. Despite the negative reviews on the glossy screen, I freakin love it. :D
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    oohh ok thats kewl. just wondering would have parallels been a better option?? just saves the restarting.
     

Share This Page