Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

newmacmom

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 28, 2006
for two macs. I am new to mac so bear with me! One is for my dd who is only 8. The main things she would "need" it for is for learning games, her iPod, and maybe even some creative projects (she says she wants to make short movies of herself--not sure if iMovie would be too advanced or what). I am envisioning having good parental security and putting it in her room with wireless printing. Since we already have a good monitor and keyboard, I was thinking mac mini for her. Questions about that:
(1) Would 512mb be enough for her purposes? Or should I upgrade to 1gb RAM?
(2) What is the minimum sized processor I should consider (if I consider used)?
(3) If I want Leopard installed in her system (looks like good parental security), what do I need to make sure is on the mini?

The second mac would be for me. I want it for the basic computer stuff, but also for video and photo editing (with a Sony Cybershot and a Canon Elura). I am new to movie editing...only have done a little on the pc before it kept freezing up on me, and I quit. I was thinking about getting an iMac with FCE preinstalled (because I can get a good discount on it preinstalled), 24" monitor, 2 GB RAM. I am unsure of what processor would be adequate or video card (I keep hearing the faster processors are not really that much faster, but then some who do video editing says it does make a difference). I am at least waiting until the new iLife comes out...not sure I can hold out until Leopard. Any thoughts or advice on this one? I have been researching it forever because any time I am about to plunk this kind of dough down, I want to make sure of my purchase!

ghostee

macrumors 6502
Feb 25, 2004
Villa Park, IL