Need Help! Missing FCE sequence!

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Josephkyles, Oct 14, 2007.

  1. Josephkyles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #1
    I've been working on a project in FCE for about a week, when today I open it up and the sequence is gone!! What could have happened? How can I fix this?
     
  2. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #2
    look in the browser and see if its in there. and if it is, double click on it and it will open back up in the timeline.
     
  3. Mea8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #3
    I cannot find any of the sequences!

    Can you please help. I closed out the canvas and lost the sequences. I saved the project and closed the program to try and find the canvas and sequence.

    Now I cannot find the sequences I have been working in.

    Please help!
     
  4. Scooby_Doo macrumors member

    Scooby_Doo

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    You should be able to go into the Window Menu (if I remember correctly) and select Window Setup then choose either "Standard" or "Small Windows."

    This should restore all windows, Browser, Viewer, Canvas, Timeline, etc.

    Then look in the browser for the file that represents the Sequence that is missing. It should still be there, double click to open, and you're back to work.

    Alternatively if somehow that Sequence was automatically deleted you may be able to look in your Scratch Folder (the location of which can be found under User Preferences) for the "Auto-Saves" folder and open an older version of your project.
     
  5. Mea8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #5
    I feel like a total dumb ass.
    I cannot find the "auto-saves" it only tells us that its an auto save vault.

    This is my first 'large' project and I'm not sure if I'm understanding the correct way of using it. I import clips from imovie and play from viewe untill I 'overwrite' on the canvas and then it goes into my timline names sequence 1.

    I almost finished my sequence (20 minutes long) when I Xed out of the canvas. and saved and closed and re-opend it to hope to find the canvas and swequence.

    There is now a 'fresh' sequence.

    ____ I went to the auto vault and open the project labeled form yesterday and only the project opened I cannot view the sequence I was editing in. (the one with the cuts, transitions and music)

    Please bare with me, I am very new to FCE and I'm afraid I lost All the work!
    Any thing else you can help me with?

    Thanks
     
  6. Scooby_Doo macrumors member

    Scooby_Doo

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    Again, check your Browser window (Like the library in iMovie) where all of your files are imported to. There should be your video clips as well as any music or graphics you have added. In addition there should be sequences, it sounds like you haven't renamed any so the sequence you are looking for is:

    "Sequence 1"

    If you double click that it should open in the timeline and you'll be good to go. If for whatever reason it is not in the timeline, look in the timeline window. On the top left there should be at least one open tab (like what you see in Safari or Firefox). If there are multiple tabs "Sequence 2" and "Sequence 1" etc. then you can click on each tab to switch that that sequence.

    Sequences are essential to workflow in a Final Cut environment. You can think of them like chapters in an overall book. Or like sections of a year book. You put information you need in each sequence (sentences, pictures, music), and then you can put together entire sequences (chapter 1: the beginning, chapter 2: the rising action and climax, chapter 3: the conclusion) on a final timeline to put together a large piece of video.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. Mea8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #7
    Thanks Scooby!
    With your direction I found it!:D
     

Share This Page