Need help moving data from Palm PDA device to iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by pgicruiser, Jul 9, 2009.

1. pgicruiser macrumors newbie

I'm new to the iPhone and all things Apple. I just ordered a new iPhone 3GS and need to transfer all my contact and calendar data from my Palm PDA. How do I go about this? :eek:

2. Ntombi macrumors 68040

Ntombi

I moved from a Treo to an iPhone last year, and this is what I did:

Went into the Palm Desktop and did an export of the calendar and contacts. Then I went into iCal and Address Book and did an import. That transferred all of my info. Unfortunately, it didn't keep everything exactly the same (how could it really, when I had personalized my Palm fields?), but I could go into iCal and Address Book and clean some stuff up, which didn't take too long. I then re-colorized my calendar stuff, which took the longest, but that's entirely optional. I have all of my entries going back ten+ years on my iCal, and going back three years on my iPhone. You can choose in iTunes how far back to sync the calendar.

I was pleasantly surprised, since I had used neither iCal nor Address Book until the switch to the iPhone.

3. pgicruiser thread starter macrumors newbie

Great! Thank you.