need help new with i mac pc

Discussion in 'iMac' started by freeway29, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. freeway29 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #1
    Hi all just got a Imac G5 EMC 2056 and with no disk and want to restore it back to factory settings so its a fresh start is there a way i can do it please thanks.:cool:
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Contact Apple and ask for the grey Restore CD/DVDs, they will probably send you replacements for 15 to 30 USD.

    Or get a Retail version of Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger or Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard, but they cost more than 100 USD via eBay nowadays.

    Btw, it's called an iMac.

    And for future reference:
     
  3. freeway29 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #3
    ok thanks and is the operating system called MAC OSX 10.58 is that the one that came with it.
     
  4. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I don't what it came with but OS X 10.4 or 10.5 can be installed on it!
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    It came with Mac OS X 10.4.x, as Mac OS X 10.5 was released in October 2007 and the G5 iMac was discontinued in 2006 in favour for the Intel iMac.

    You can install Mac OS X 10.5 though, Mac OS X 10.6 is for Intel Macs only.

    Look here for information about your specific iMac: http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_g5_2.0_20.html

    Look here for information about the switch to Intel:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple–Intel_transition

    Look here for information on how to contact Apple, your country's Apple website may have differing information though: www.apple.com/contact
     
  6. freeway29 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #6
    Is There A Way You Can Find Out If Its A Lepoard, Tiger Or So On System.
     
  7. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    boot it up and click the apple (top left) and select about this mac.

    and it should say there
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    Not without booting the system on it. If you can boot the system:
    [​IMG]
     
  9. freeway29 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #9
    yea i found that and it says Mac os x 10.58 but i thought it would say if its a tiger or what ever other ones there are or it doesnt
     
  10. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #10
    10.5.8 is Leopard.
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #11
    Tiger and Leopard are the official code names for their respective Mac OS X version, but the name never shows up in About This Mac, unless one hacks it.

    Stolen from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X#Versions
     
  12. freeway29 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #12
    Ok thanks for all your help and one more question is there a link where you can download the OS SYSTEM FOR IT OR NOT.
     
  13. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #13
    Yes, there is, but not via legal means, thus no dice here.

    And using CAPS LOOKS LIKE YOU ARE SCREAMING AT US.
     
  14. freeway29 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
  15. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #15
    They will send you the Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger version though, just so you know. You have to get the Leopard upgrade via eBay or other means if you want Leopard.
     
  16. 87vert macrumors 6502

    87vert

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #16
    You don't need to do a "fresh start" just create a new user account and delete the old one. OS X keeps everything pretty tiddy by itself. Its not Windows.
     
  17. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #17
    yes no need for reinstall , just create a new user account and delete the old one , job done

    safe up for the disc , you might need it in the future ,
    and its not windows world , Mac users are proud that they own the the software they use
    and it has a advantage with legal obtained software you can call the developer
    and ask for support if something doesn't work like you expected it
     
  18. freeway29 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #18
    ok did that worked well thanks now its virtually got the standard stuff on it is there a way i can create a cd/dvd in case i ever have to reinstall.
     
  19. C. Alan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #19
    OSX 10.5 Leopard saw the introduction of Time Machine. You can back up the entire system to an external drive with time machine, and it will make incremental back ups up to once an hour. In the event of a system failure, you can use a retail Leopard install disk to restore the computer from the backup.
     
  20. freeway29 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #20
    ok yea got the time machine ill do that then , just have to get the retail lepoard disk now thanks .
     

Share This Page