Need help optimizing an Applescript

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by landoncox, Sep 1, 2015.

1. landoncox macrumors newbie

I'm very new to scripting but thanks to google and forums like this, I was able to come up with a script that does exactly what I need, the only problem is that it is pretty slow and was hoping someone could help me optimize it.

I manage and organize thousands of files that have multiple versions of the same content. The script currently looks through all the selected files, and moves them all into a folder based on the last three numbers of the filename, that way all the different versions of the same content are collected in a single folder. Again, script works great, but was wondering if there was anything i could do to speed it up. Thanks in advance!

Code:
    on run {input, parameters} -- create folders from file names and move

set output to {} -- this will be a list of the moved files

repeat with anItem in the input -- step through each item in the input
            set {theContainer, theName, theExtension} to (getTheNames from anItem)
            try
                set destination to (makeNewFolder for theName at theContainer)
                tell application "Finder"
                    move anItem to destination
                    set the end of the output to the result as alias -- success
                end tell
            on error errorMessage -- duplicate name, permissions, etc
                log errorMessage
                # handle errors if desired - just skip for now
            end try
        end repeat

return the output -- pass on the results to following actions
    end run

to getTheNames from someItem -- get a container, name, and extension from a file item
        tell application "System Events" to tell disk item (someItem as text)
            set theContainer to the path of the container
            set {theName, theExtension} to {name, name extension}
        end tell