iPhone Need Help or Advice w/jailbroken iphone 4s

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Sceptre, Nov 11, 2013.

  1. Sceptre macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #1
    Hi, I need some advice on what to do here.
    I am not a noob, nor an expert. I have been using iphone since 3g, have always jail broken my phones, have also replaced many digitizer/lcd for my friends as well as myself. Not an expert, but I can get around. :)

    My problem with my jail broken at&t gsm iphone 4s ........

    I have been running jail broken 5.0 (9A334) with 1.0.11 firmware for a couple yrs and have always loved it. Several months back I must have somehow acquired a corrupted file or two because things have been screwy. Examples, can hardly hear the earpiece volume, (have to use the phone on speaker now), camera roll shows 2 billion photos, and 2 billion videos, (so I can no longer take/save a pic or video).

    I can still access all my apps as well as Cydia.

    The software update in my settings on my phone shows 6.1.3 which I know is not jail breakable at the moment.
    (I know that I should have updated to 6.1.2 when the JB was available, but my phone was running perfectly on 5.0).


    I patiently waited for the *new iphone 5 to come out, but I was tremendously disappointed with it, so I waited for the iphone6, but instead Apple releases iphone 5s (5 same), and I am still very disappointed, so it looks like i'll have to wait til next year for Apple to come out with a *new iphone.


    Let me also add that without JB, I do NOT like iphone, (but am reluctant to switch to android).

    I would like to fix my software issues and still have a jail broken 4s, and I am willing to try all recommendations.

    Some of the folks on this site seem incredibly smart about iphones and I am begging for some help or advice.
    (if u guys can't help me, no one can).

    Thanks in advance to anyone willing to reply to this post. :)
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    Did you try and see if the problems persist in safe-mode?
     
  3. seanwebb68 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #3
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    thats only if you:
    1. Saved SHSH blobs (which cydia will most likely have if jailbroken)
    2. Updated to iOS 5.0 via an iTunes restore and not via OTA
     
  5. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #5
    Thanks for the reply guys. :)
    I would love to restore and re-jailbreak, I just don't know what to do, (I do wanna keep this phone for another year and wait to see what apple comes out with on the iphone6). I should have lots of things saved, but what about losing contacts from then til now?

    ----------


    yes Jailbroken
    yes iTunes, (never use OTA)
     
  6. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #6
    I have googled how to put the iphone is safe mode. and see tons of people who are now "stuck" in safe mode. :(

    Can someone here please tell me how to safely put my 4s into safe mode so I can see if my problem is being cause by a *tweak, or is a problem with the root system.
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    All you have to do is boot up while holding the volume up button. And a shut down and restart will put you back in regular mode
     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #8
    That is people already stuck in that state because of a bad tweak or corrupt system files.

    Putting it in safe-mode manually is no risk at all.

    Do as Darricksailo says
     
  9. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #9


    Ok, I booted the 4s while holding down the volume up button.
    While my animated backround and status bar tweaks are gone, I still see cydia and other jb stuff, (I thought none of that boots while in safe mode?).

    Anywho, the problem persists. if I try to open my camera roll by either tapping on the icon, or accessing it while the camera app is open, it immediately just jumps back to my springboard, (cannot access any pics or vids). I am sure that's because when I go to settings/general/about is shows that I still have 2 billion pics, and two billion vids, (which we know I don't).

    Once, a while back, I made a new picture folder, I think its possible that is causing my problems? I have ifunbox installed, maybe someone can tell me what I should be looking for?
     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    Safe mode disables mobile substrate which many tweaks depend on. The stuff that don't depend on mobile substrate will still be displayed
     
  11. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #11
    Have you tried running iCleaner? You can also customize settings for an even further deep clean. But if you don't know what you're doing you can just run the default settings. It'll clean out a bunch of junk/cache files.
     
  12. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #12
    Post a list of your JB apps/tweaks

    it looks like 1 is causing a problem
     
  13. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #13
    use AppInfo from cydia if you can download and install it
     
  14. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #14

    Where do I find a list of only jb apps/tweaks?






    OK, I did, now what?
     
  15. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #15
    did you even try opening the app after installing it from cydia...?
     
  16. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #16
    Yes I did. It shows every app installed on my phone, (just like iTunes), but also gives me the size of the app. They are listed alphabetically. So what's next?
     
  17. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #17
    Go to the cydia tab and click action
     
  18. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #18

    Cydia is not there?
     
  19. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #19
    Can you take a screenshot and show me?
     
  20. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #20



    Take a screen shot of what?
    I only assume u mean "open AppInfo, scroll to cydia, then click action"
    (did I misunderstand you)

    I open AppInfo, all my apps are listed in alphabetical order, and there is no cydia, (I looked 3 times and I can assure u it's not there).

    So I must be misunderstanding?
     
  21. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #21
    Take a screenshot of what you see when you open appinfo
     
  22. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #22


    Here it is
     

    Attached Files:

  23. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #23
    It the packages section, export the list with action, post the list here
     
  24. Sceptre thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #24
    when I tap packages, I can scroll down and find cydia installer and cydia translations. I tap on cydia installer, then tap "export" (top right) put in my e-mail addy and tap send, but nothing shows up in my inbox, (I checked my span folder as well).

    I can take screen shots if u guys would tell me what ur looking for.
    (I will guess ur looking for conflicts in cydia installer, and will post that screen shot).
     

    Attached Files:

  25. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #25
    This is going to be a long one...

    In appinfo go to packages
    Now top left Export
    Select simple list
    Email to yourself
    Post here

    DON'T go to cydia, that is just the app, doing the above will list all your cydia packages installed.
     

Share This Page