Need help! - Phone app not working

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by PEN10k, Oct 11, 2014.

  1. PEN10k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I was hoping some of you could help me..

    (I'm running iOS 8.0.2 on my iPhone 5C)
    Got a problem with the phone app.. When I open the app, it freezes. Like, I can't do anything in the app, wether its dialing a number, or try to open one of the other tabs like contacts.. can't do anything, it's just freezed.. I can close it withouth problems and continue, but the app itself won't react to anything.

    Thanks
     
  2. virtuosity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Assume you've tried restarting the device?

    If so, it might be worth backing up your device, and reinstalling the OS from scratch, and the restoring your personal config/data. There are plenty of threads on how to do this.
     
  3. PEN10k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    Yup, I've restarted it, didn't help though..

    I'll try to reinstall then.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Satori macrumors 6502a

    Satori

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Have you tried manually killing all background apps in the fast app switcher, and also turning of background processes for all apps in your settings?
     
  5. PEN10k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    Oh! No, I haven't tried that.

    How does that work??

    ----------

    If you mean the double-click on the home button, and killing all apps from there, then yes, i tried that.

    But turning off the background processes??
     
  6. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    Did you try a hard reset? Hold the home and power buttons until the phone restarts. Then try the phone app.
     
  7. PEN10k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    Just tried it - didn't help.. damn..
    super frustrating..
     
  8. Satori macrumors 6502a

    Satori

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    In settings>general>background app refresh
     
  9. PEN10k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    Didn't do it neither... :(
     
  10. Romf macrumors 6502

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #10
    kill the app first: double click on the home button then slide the phone app up to make it disappear.
    Then try to open it again
     
  11. PEN10k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    Nope, didn't help it.. :-(

    Anybody else??
    Someone who has the same issues??
     
  12. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    Do an iCloud backup, then use iTunes to do a restore to 8.0.2
    When activating, you will get the option to do an iCloud restore.

    Best option to fix it.
     
  13. PEN10k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #13
    Thanks, but I already did a restore, and before I used my back up, I checked the app, but It was still crashing when I opened it.. so it must be the 8.0.2 version, but it haven't crashed all the time with 8.0.2, just recently..
     
  14. Romf macrumors 6502

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #14
    Then only thing left is set up as new and redownload everything (don't restore). Probably your backup is corrupted
     
  15. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    Could it be something with your SIM card and/or cellular/mobile service?
     
  16. PEN10k thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #16
    Did that already.. before I used my backup, and the phone was "new", I checked it, to see wether it was the backup or not, but it still didn't work.

    ----------

    Hmm.. I tried to take out the sim-card, just in case that could done something, but still nothing..
     
  17. Romf macrumors 6502

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
  18. Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    You could try a new SIM card before changing the phone.

    If unlocked you could get a cheap PAYG just to test. If locked the mobile network you are with should give you a new one, but will need to switch your number to it.

    You could take it in to current mobile network shop and they ought to be able to pop a SIM in to see if it is a phone or SIM fault.
     

Share This Page