Need help please! (Question around syncing, getting a new iphone & content concerns)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Maynerd, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. Maynerd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #1
    Hi Folks,

    Hope someone can answer some questions for me. Using Vista and an iPhone edge version (non 3G).

    1. I attempted to sync my iphone last night and it says it is sync'd to another computer. I tried all of my computers in my home and all of them say this. If I sync it with the computer it says it will erase data. What does it erase? just songs? I'm really worried about my contacts and downloaded (paid for) content.

    2. I ordered a 3GS and am excited to have it. How do I transfer all my content over to the new phone?

    3. I am also wondering about the purchased content on my iphone will I be able to transfer my licenses?

    4. Can I use my iphone for anything after I disconnect the service?

    thanks!
     
  2. AiralynRose macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #2
    1. You have to sync with the computer that you originally did your sync to. How did you get your music/media onto your phone? You HAD to set it up in iTunes when you first did it... what computer did you do that with? If you sync with a different computer it will erase everything on the phone and replace it with the iTunes media on the new computer. As for contacts, you should sync those with Outlook or Address Book. You can also sync contacts with some email services (exchange, yahoo, google, mobileme)

    2. Again, iPhones sync with a specific computer. You should have all your media and data backed up and synced onto one of your computers. When you get the new phone then you will restore from your last backup and then sync all your media.

    3. Purchased content is associated with your iTunes account and not the phone itself. You can right click the phone in iTunes and choose "Transfer Purchases" or do "Store > Check for available downloads" which will transfer anything you purchased on the phone that hasn't been downloaded to your computer. Plus, you can always re-download things you've purchased without paying for them again as long as you're logged in to the account you purchased them with.

    4. You can use it as a iPod Touch, give it to a friend/family member to use as a Touch or Phone, sell it (they old value well and are still selling for good money), or just keep it as a backup phone in case you damage your 3GS. Or take it out when you're going somewhere or doing something that you'd be worried your phone might get damaged.
     
  3. Maynerd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #3
    I definately set it up with a computer in my home but for some reason it no longer recognizes the computer. It has to be one of the computers in my home there's just no other. So I'm not sure what happened.

    So just to be clear if I try to sync it with a computer that I did not sync with before it will erase EVERYTHING? So my contacts, apps, music, etc...

    If so that's not good. :(

    Is there any way to get my contact information off of the unit?

    I can write down my apps and redownload but contacts would be a real hassle to do...any suggestions?



     
  4. AiralynRose macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #4
    I'm not sure if it will work or not... but you could try signing up for a mobile me trial account and set it up to sync your contacts. i assume the free trials offer that.
     
  5. Randykn. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #5
    hello, i have a problem myself as well

    i use to have an iphone 2g and i have all my backup in my hp laptop.
    then i lost my iphone so couldnt do much about it
    and after these heartbreaking stuffs, i bought a macbookpro, and im planning to get iphone 3gS when it is available here in australia.

    problem is, i was thinking to sync with my hp laptop to retrieve the backup, but now i was thinking how should i bring it over to my mac?

    any ideas any1?
     

Share This Page