Need help quick!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Meatman, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. Meatman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #1
    Need some help quick
    I am selling my 3gs tomorrow and I need to unlock it. The problem is that I hit reset on the phone after I got my new one and now it is saying I need to put in a sim card to activate it. I cant do anything to it and I am not even sure what firmware or baseband I have on it. Is it still possible to unlock it?
     
  2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    Assume you are with AT&T, just use an old/inactive AT&T sim, pop it into the phone, hook it up to Itunes and it will by pass this emergency screen.

    Once you do that, then give us the firmware version and baseband by going into Setting, general, about.
     
  3. Meatman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #3
    I did probably the most retarded thing in the world and threw the sim away......
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    You still have the new sim (micro sim). Go get the micro sim adapter and use that micro sim in your 3GS, it work fine.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Love how people try to sell their iPhone unlocked and have no clue what or how to do it.
     
  6. Meatman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #6
    me too
     
  7. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #7
    Ha..ha. At least OP's phone was jailbroken when he/she hits the reset button. Otherwise, it even worst. :D
     
  8. Meatman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #8
    I got a sim card and now have everything working. I just need to jailbreak and unlock. Anyone know how to do that on 4.3.5?
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    4.3.5 will be a tethered jb and to unlock u will have to install the iPad bb.
    Use redsnow or snowbreeze.
     
  10. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #10
    Or downgrade it to 4.1, jailbreak & unlock so you have untethered jailbreak.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Yep, even better.
     

Share This Page