Need help. To Buy or not

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MeijApple, Apr 17, 2007.

1. MeijApple macrumors newbie

Hi out there,

I am new to Apple and Imac's. I am in the market for a 24" Imac and planned to wait till leopard is out.

In order to decide if i should wait any longer or buy th 24" Imac i have the following questions:
    1 - Will there be any relevant updates on the Imacs within the next several months?
    2 - Will there be an free update offer to Leopard (and iLife) after 11 june?
    3 - Will there be any price drops the next several months regarding the Imacs?

Okay please submit the correct answers.

2. siurpeeman macrumors 603

siurpeeman

a lot of people will tell you that this question's been asked many times before, and that you can find several threads regarding the matter with a simple search. to answer your questions:

1. it's likely imacs will be updated in the coming weeks/months. how relevant these updates are is anybody's guess. faster processors, better graphics cards, different case design? who knows?

2. it's unlikely apple will offer a free upgrade to leopard on new macs purchased after june 11. usually, "free" upgrades are given to those who buy after the announced ship date of leopard (and that usually happens a month before launch). and by "free" i mean $20 (or is it $10?).

3. i doubt it, but you never know. only apple does.

3. MeijApple thread starter macrumors newbie

Thnx.

For me question 2 and 3 are solved. They won't hold me to buy an 24" Imac right now. But only question 1 remains. Different case ? No big deal, but graphics card and processor certainly are !

But regarding the imac processor update? Intel is not releasing any updates. I hear a lot of Santa Rosa, but are those not for mobile chips ? And Penryn will be Q3 or Q4.

Has anybody have some info regarding the processor updates?

Thanks, Very close to buy a 24" Imac. :D :D :D

4. siurpeeman macrumors 603

siurpeeman