Need help to diagnose Video issue (G5)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Hack5190, Jan 11, 2016.

  1. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #1
    Trouble shooting a dual 1.8 G5, no known history - received w/out hard drive or ram. Installed known good ram and ATI video card. Video tests typically fail (1 out of 8 tests pass) in Apple Hardware and Apple Service discs. Fail means the machine locks and needs to be powered off. Replaced video card w/known good Nvidia card, system boots but displays no video. All other tests in Apple Hardware and Apple Service pass. I'm not certain where to go next . . .
     
  2. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    So AHT boots with video?
     
  3. Hack5190, Jan 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2016

    Hack5190 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #3
    With the Nvidia card there is NO video - not even boot manager. It's as if the monitor is disconnected - the monitor senses no video signal. The ATI card works as expected.

    Note that both the ATI & Nvidia cards work in a 2nd dual 1.8 G5.
     
  4. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    Do you have and PCIe Mac GPUs? If so put one in a PCI slot and leave the ATI or Nvidia in the AGP slot
    --- Post Merged, Jan 11, 2016 ---
    And boot off the display connected to the PCI GPU
     
  5. Hack5190 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #5
    There may be a PCIe card in my stack of stuff, but it would be from a PC - not a MAC. So you can use 2 video cards in a G5 at the same time?
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Well, you can use three (or more) in a G4, so yeah. You can do two in a G5. :D

    [​IMG]
     
  7. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    I think the PCIe card has to have a Mac ROM. Check to see if it is flashable, if so flash it and then try
     
  8. Hack5190 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #8
    Found a Radeon 9250 PCI 256MB and there is a Mac rom for it. I'll give it a go tomorrow.
     
  9. Hack5190 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #9
    Downloaded Graphiccelerator to patch the 9250, headed over to The Mac Elite Software Downloads and grabbed a 9250 Modified ATI PPC ROM.

    Using my 'good' G5 I was able to confirm the Nvida card works :)
    After flashing the ATI 9250 the OS no longer sees it as a video card and it can't be re-flashed :oops:

    As I posted in this thread, it's time to give up on this machine.
     

Share This Page