Need help upgrading RAM on eMac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Old Mac User, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. Old Mac User macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #1
    I recently found an eMac, and (surprise!) it works.
    It runs pretty fast, and I like it, but the Ram is only about 380MB. I've looked on the apple website, but they're guide shows an emac with a different expansion port back (one with mesh instead of a solid cover) and the guide doesn't help. Does anybody know anything about this?
     
  2. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #2
    Arent they generally the same just remove the door and the ram is there, thats what its been showing on many things ive googled, the only difference is ones a plastic door and the other is metal i assume?
     
  3. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #3
    Yeah, I've had 3, you access the RAM the same on all. The difference would be the type of RAM used. I think the G4 700, 800, 1Ghz models used PC100/PC133 and the 1.25Ghz and 1.42Ghz models sued DDR 333
     
  4. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #4
    tehe fixed it but only runs in 333 if you put 400 in.
     
  5. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for the correction forgot about the edu model
     

Share This Page