NEED HELP! which 15" with SSD should I buy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jimithing, Feb 26, 2011.

1. jimithing macrumors member

Ok so I am torn, I can get a student discount so here are my two options that I am considering...

low end 15" mbp w/ 256gb SSD = $2,239
    or
    High end mbp w/ 128gb SSD and High Res Glossy = $2,179
    or
    Low end mpb w/ 128gb SSD, High res glossy, and 8gb Memory = $2,149

I use my computer for surfing the net MOST of the time, but I would like to get into WoW and possibly counter strike or other steam games (I USED TO DIG THEM, BUT I MAY NEVER DO THIS, I JUST THINK I MAY HA)
    I am also an amatuer photographer, who would like to get better, but I have a 500gb external I dont mind using for storgage, I also have an 11" MBA 1.4/64GB

So to sum it up I surf the new, take some HD video w/ sony bloggie, and take DSLR pics, But I dont mind storing them on a exernal and 256 is plenty... not sure about 128 though... I am afraid to even put pics on my 64 11" MBA for some reason (I DUNNO WHY MY LIBRARY IS MAYBE 5GB or PICS and 6GB of music) and I dont download my movies/TV shows I stream them from the internet so QUALITY of videos isnt paramount to me as long as it looks as good as say a 720p tv does... or even a SD tv JUSt not BAD resolution, so i dunno about the high res screen it may just be the man in me that wants something Ill never use or need.

SO any OPINIONS or SUGGESTIONS! would be greatly appreciated... thanks yall

2. lesyork macrumors member

I would personally say the 128GB high end with the upgraded screen, no RAM. Get it at a later date from someone else.

3. bastienvans macrumors member

I'd go with base 15" with AntiGlare (a photographer's favorite). Upgrade SSD down the road when they are cheaper.

4. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1GB GDDR5 :cool::cool::cool:

5. MultiMediaWill macrumors 68000