Need help with a startup error message, can't get into folder to sort it!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MooMoo, Sep 13, 2009.

1. MooMoo macrumors newbie

Hi, Im new to Macrumours, and I'm here on the recommendation of a friend. :)

Anyhoo, I uninstalled my Lexmark printer since Snow Leopard exploded/deleted/doesnt have the drivers for my printer (another problem for another time), and ever since I've had this error message on startup:

There are no options to fix or delete LexSleeperX.app, and I cant get into Startupitems (Despite the fact its my laptop, and Im the admin, I dont have permission to access it, lol) so I really dont know what to do.

Any help or advice is much appriciated. :)

(On a Macbook Pro if that makes any difference)

2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

If you do not have access to it as admin, try accessing that folder as root. In 10.6, Apple made it a little more difficult to open Directory Utility and gain root access. You have to go to Accounts preferences, click Login Options, click on the Join button next to Network Account Server, then click on Open Directory Utility from the popup. Click the padlock, authenticate with your admin password, go to the Edit menu, select Enable Root User. Enter in a password and verify it. Now log out of your admin account, at at the login window you'll see an option for Other... Enter "root" without quotes for the name, and the root password you entered. Now go to the specified folder location and delete LexSleeperX.app. Log out, back to the admin, see if that fixed the issue. If it did, go back to Directory Utility and disable the root account. Remember to set the root password back to nothing (also from the Edit menu) before you disable it completely.

3. MooMoo thread starter macrumors newbie

4. PW168 macrumors member