Need help with Backing up Parallels on Time Machine

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by HighTime, Feb 12, 2015.

  1. HighTime macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #1
    Hello folks,

    Had my 5k Mac for about a week now and have almost got it set up the way I want it. I've just installed Parallels and want to know how to back it up on the Time Capsule. I've read a few posts on the forums but I'm still not sure as to how to go about it in the best way. Could someone give me a guideline as to what best practices are, how to keep the back up size to a minimum and if their technique actually worked when they tried to restore their system based on their settings.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
  3. HighTime, Feb 12, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2015

    HighTime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #3
    Ok thanks, I just read that and have enabled Smart Guard. Under the 'Details' section of Smart Guard, should I check the box which says 'Optimize for Time Machine' or not? Or am I supposed to back up everything once without optimizing like this and then set it to optimize?

    Just want to get this all clear before I switch the Time Capsule on and start backing up.

    Thanks.

    PS: this will be the first backup I do to Time Machine.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    You can go ahead and check it now and do the TM backup. Since it will all be new data, TM should grab the entire VM the first backup.
     
  5. HighTime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #5
    Ok thanks.
     
  6. HighTime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #6
    When backing up to Time Machine, does Parallels have to actually be running for the Smart Guard settings etc., to work?
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Nope. It will work fine with it shut down.
     
  8. HighTime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #8
    Thanks.
     
  9. oregondean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #9
    My understanding is that the backup integrity is only 100% guaranteed only if Parallels is shut down. I am not sure how the snapshot plays into this - since that is a static file and that is a good thing.
     

Share This Page