Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zdobson

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 9, 2007
Indiana
What I want to do:
Archive my photos and back up my computer.

Considerations:
I'm a professional photographer and at some point I will get a server, but for now I can do without it. I need two exact copies of each drive containing photos. One will remain in the office while the other will be in a secondary location. Separately, I'd like to have a backup boot drive so if my main computer drive fails, I can insert the new one and go.

What I currently have:
Mac Pro 2.8 octo w/ stock 320GB HDD.
500GB drive in external enclosure (1/2 full)
500GB Maxtor external drive (full)
250GB drive in external enclosure (full)

I feel like every option I come up with is too complex. Maybe someone can think of sometime simple.

moez

macrumors regular
Jun 6, 2007
For the 500GB and 250GB hard drive that are full, I doubt you would be changing them a lot so burn them on backup disks. If you can afford bluray burner and disk then that would be great otherwise plan old dvd's should suffice though you would need alot of them 750GB / 4.7GB = 160 Disks. for the remaining two, buy an external harddisk with 1 or 1.5tb and use time machine.
OR
On a simpler note, buy an enclosure which has the ability to use 2 hardrives. Put 2x1.5TB in and backup all 4 using Time Machine. You are set to go in under $300.

Good Luck

michael.lauden

macrumors 68020
Dec 25, 2008
you might want to skimp on bluray now... being that is so expensive right now.

i'd say, even though it may be sacrilegious - to check out skydrive from windows live.

http://skydrive.live.com/?mkt=en-us

25GB of free storage sounds like a good deal to me.

string together a few accounts and you have a lot of free storage.