Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BJB Productions

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Nov 10, 2008
I'm running into the problem where I can't just keep buying hard drives... They're stacking up and it's getting ridiculous. I need something that actually makes sense. I'm a photographer and need a system for working with, archiving, and backing up media.

Here's what I (ideally) need:

1. Working SSD Thunderbolt (or USB3) drive - *active projects stored here* (this one is easy to solve)

2. Some sort of storage device to archive all my old projects. Doesn't need to be super fast. Would be great to have two computers able to access it at the same time but not essential. - *old projects stored here*

3. A system for backing up EVERYTHING. This includes...
  • Working drive
  • Archives
  • Internal computer drive/ system files...etc

Since I have a few hard drives I figure I can use one of those with Time Machine to take care of at least my system file backup.

Okay... So what are your thoughts? Keep in mind I don't have thousands of dollars to blow. :(

ColdCase

macrumors 68040
Feb 10, 2008
NH
Something that actually makes sense will cost more than $600.

Basically this is what I ended up with for something similar but oriented more to video:

At my main working computer, which is a laptop I take on location, I attached a OWC thunderbay, installed a Larger SSD in one bay for working scratch and two 2TB drives RAID0'd for performance (4TB for storage) for day to day libraries and a 5TB NAS type drive and I use CCC to backup the library drive to the 5TB drive. I backup the internal drive to a mini server. Libraries I want to share are on the mini server which is OK for photos, kinda slow for video editing.