Need Help With Coins

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Channan, Jul 4, 2017.

1. Channan macrumors 68030

Channan

I've been collecting foreign coins for a few years now just as I get them, almost exclusively from people who either confuse them with US currency, or know what they are and try to pass them off as US coins anyway. Either way, a foreign coin is worth more to me than a penny, nickel, dime, or quarter, so I just keep it.

I just went through my "collection" and identified the country/area where all but three of my coins came from. I have at least one coin from each of the following:

Bahamas
    India
    Netherlands
    UAE
    Panama
    East Caribbean States
    Canada
    Australia
    Coasta Rica
    Spain
    Colombia
    Portugal
    China
    Cayman Islands
    Malaysia
    Honduras
    Mexico
    France
    Switzerland
    Barbados
    Swaziland
    Denmark
    UK
    Luxembourg
    Greece

But I have no idea where these three came from:

IMG_20170704_231203664.jpg
    IMG_20170704_231130191.jpg

If you have any idea about any of these, please let me know.

2. Bart Kela macrumors 6502a

Bart Kela

The one on the left with the hole is a Japanese 5 yen coin, worth approximately US$0.0442 (4.42 cents) at current exchange rates: their equivalent of a nickel.

Despite its low face value, it is considered a "good" denomination in Japan. More info at the Wikipedia article.

My guess is that if you photographed these individually and sent them to Google Images for identification, you'd have the answer for the other two.

I suppose I could edit your original image and do the work for you, but I'm too busy drinking beer and listening to the noise from the last public Independence Day fireworks show in my area.

3. Nermal, Jul 4, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2017

Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member