Need help with figureing out a problem with FCP

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by AaronKrummen, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. AaronKrummen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #1
    Ok so I have run into a problem while exporting a video I am working on, the quality of the video seems to be getting knocked down when I use it in FCP.

    I have exported the video uncompressed and done a side by side comparison and there is a very obvious blur/pixelation issue going on with the video after taking it in to FCP.

    I think maybe I have the audio video settings set wrong or maybe something with the sequence is messed up? I don't know really, any suggestions would be really helpful.
     
  2. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #2
    What is the format, resolution etc of your source material, and what are your project settings?
     
  3. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #3
    yeah...
    what camcorder are you using?
    what is the out put you are trying to do?
     
  4. AaronKrummen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #4
    The source material is H.264 786x384

    The project settings are DV NTSC 48khz

    And I have been exporting the video at 720x480 by sending it through compressor and using the Uncompressed 10bit option. (i did it through compressor after doing a quicktime conversion turned up a horrible looking video)

    The video has also been scaled up a bit to get rid of a frame on the original, but some of the footage I made myself in After Effects (Made at 720x480, and came out of AE looking fine) is suffering the same problem.
     
  5. AaronKrummen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #5
    The video was captured from the Iphone using a program I forget the name. Its not the iphone recording, its a recording of a game being run on the iphone by some screen capture software.
     
  6. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #6
    is your final output h.264?
    I have found that recompressing h.264 has always coming out looking bad.
    anyone have better results?

    try this:
    take an empty pop can.
    place it on the floor.
    smash it flat.
    now try to pull it back to how it was.
    see how it looks like crap? that's call compression
     

Share This Page