Need help with Find my iPhone remote wipe feature

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by codyc815, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. codyc815 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #1
    Okay, I was just as excited as everyone else about 3.0. I downloaded it right before work. One of the features I was curious about was the remote wipe, so I tried it out, thinking it would be no problem to restore it. It says it should take no more than 2 hours to erase everything and then you can connect it to your mac and restore it. The only thing is, it still wont restore after 10 hours. Ill press the power button, the apple logo will show up for 20 seconds and then disappear. I have no idea what to do. I would book an appointment at the apple store but everythings booked. Any help would be more than appreciated! :eek:
     
  2. HarrisonB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #2
    This is what you get for remote whipping your phone.
     
  3. pampelmu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #3
    I have that Problem too, is here anyone who knows something about it?
     
  4. OlgaJ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    I couldn't even sync my phone yesterday. It kept stalling in one spot. Then I decided to cut off internet access of my computer. The Sync went quickly.

    I think that as long as you are connected to the internet, iTunes calls "home" for one reason or another and due to the busy servers, never completes that "call". Without internet connection, it skips the "calling."

    So try disconnecting from the internet and see if the restore goes on a little faster.
     
  5. mjwalker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #5
    Solution!

    Found a solution by fluke as had the same problem.....

    Plug the dead iPhone into your computer - DO NOT start iTunes. Whilst plugged in, hold down the Home button for about 20 seconds and iTunes should pop open. Don't let go of Home until iTunes starts.

    It will tell you that iTunes has found an iPhone in recovery mode and it will ask you to restore.

    Then follow the restore process....

    Please let me know if this works for you.

    Thanks, Matt
     
  6. wackymacky macrumors 65832

    wackymacky

    #6
    I have to laugh about this. You've got nothing better to do that wait around for two hours just to try out this feature?


    Yes you can restore the phone’s firmware in recovery the phone. (You'll lose non sync'ed data), and if that doesn’t work, DFU mode.

    Standard iPhone practice really, using these modes when you screw up a firmware update or hack your iPhone.
     
  7. kjiphone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #7
    Remote Wipe on 1st Gen iphone - stuck on Apple icon

    found answer...
     
  8. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #8
    Why not to verify a feature? Have you ever done a restore to see if your backups work?
     

Share This Page