Need help with first purchase....

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ides of March, Jan 23, 2011.

1. Ides of March macrumors newbie

I am wanting to purchase a 15' macbook pro but not sure of the 3 choices on the Apple site which to get. I am a musician, so seeing Garageband coming with the MBP was a big selling point. I am not a photography or video guy. My wife does that, the only thing I would use video for would be to record something and put it on youtube. I am not computer savy, so I don't know how big the difference is between the 2.53 GHz and the 2.66 GHz. Or if there is a big difference between the i5 or i7 Processors. Or the mb storage between 256 and 512. If I am going to spend over 2 grand I just want to make sure I have enough storage and memory for what I intend to use it for.

2. skiltrip macrumors 68030

Im a musician too. And it was my sole reason for getting my first MacBook Pro back in April. I got the base 13", because it was all I could afford at the time. Even the base 13" does pretty well. I use Pro Tools 9 with it. However, the CPU can get bogged down when I use too many midi instruments or too many guitar sim plugins.

So I'd definitely recommend any of the 15". Just watch the hard drive space. If you're going to want to put any sample libraries for other DAW software on there, get the 2.53ghz so you get the 500gb drive. If not, the difference in CPU power between the 2.4 and 2.53 is not really a big deal.

If you can afford it and just want a CPU ceiling as high as you can get, get the i7. But I'm not sure you'll need it. Like i said, the base 13" is ALMOST good enough for moderately heavy sessions, so any of the 15" should serve you well.

Another thing to keep in mind is the 2011 models will be out within a few months. So if you can wait a bit, you might get more bang for your buck. But if you need it now. Just get any of the 15" models. Just remember the hard drive size and vet more than you think you need.