Need help with flashing 4.1 to 5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LooseBoard, Nov 10, 2016.

  1. LooseBoard macrumors newbie

    LooseBoard

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #1
    This is a single processor system with a 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon.

    I tried using "Mac Pro 2009-2010 Firmware Tool" to flash from 4.1 to 5.1.

    Initially I received error 5570. Then I downloaded MacProEFIUpdate.dmg and opened it.

    When I ran Mac Pro 2009-2010 Firmware Tool the second time I ran through to completion without error.

    Then I shutdown my Mac Pro. For some reason the screen went black but the mouse pointer remained. After waiting several minutes I used the power button to power it down. Then I held the power button down to restart and continued holding until the power lights flashed. After I released the power button an audible tone played. Then an initially green screen that switched to grey came on and displayed what should have been a status bar but the status bar never moved. After 30+ minutes I used the power button to reboot the Mac Pro. It booted up fine but remains identified as a 4.1.

    Can you advise me as to how I should proceed to complete this flash update?

    My purpose in doing this is to upgrade to Sierra.

    I very much appreciate your help. Thank you in advance.

    Here is a list of my somewhat upgraded hardware.

    OS X El Capitan
    Version 10.11.6
    Mac Pro (Early 2009)
    Processor 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Memory 32 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC
    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2048 MB

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 8 MB
    Memory: 32 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
    Serial Number (system): YM92709C4PC
    Serial Number (processor tray): J5927016E4MFE
    Hardware UUID: 352B2BFF-9B6C-5B0A-9F99-6F7F6BDFBB5F

    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 2048 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x1184
    Revision ID: 0x00a2
    ROM Revision: MacVidCards
    Displays:
    SAMSUNG:
    Resolution: 1280 x 720 @ 60Hz (720p)
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Television: Yes
    Philips 288P6:
    Resolution: 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Connection Type: DisplayPort
    Television: Yes

    Memory Slots:

    ECC: Enabled
    Upgradeable Memory: Yes

    DIMM 1:

    Size: 8 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x85F7
    Part Number: 0x463732314755363546393333334700520000
    Serial Number: -

    DIMM 2:

    Size: 8 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x85F7
    Part Number: 0x463732314755363546393333334700520000
    Serial Number: -

    DIMM 3:

    Size: 8 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x85F7
    Part Number: 0x463732314755363546393333334700520000
    Serial Number: -

    DIMM 4:

    Size: 8 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x85F7
    Part Number: 0x463732314755363546393333334700520000
    Serial Number: -
     
  2. Fangio, Nov 10, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2016

    Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #2
    Hmm.. if this one hasn't been flashed properly you'll need another card with EFI to perform the upgrade. Try with the original card if you still have it.
     
  3. LooseBoard thread starter macrumors newbie

    LooseBoard

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #3
    The GTX770 came from an eBay seller named chopfooey. It was described as "EVGA GTX 770 PCI Express graphics card with 2GB (2048MB) of GDDR5 memory for Intel EFI64 Mac Pro. This is one of the fastest cards you can install without adding an additional power supply. The GTX 770 offers a faster and considerably more power efficient solution than the GTX 680. Guaranteed to be OEM compatible with full boot screen support like a GTX 680 Apple Mac Edition only faster and a whole lot cheaper. I stand behind every item I sell. If it doesn't perform as advertised it will be replaced with one that will or your money back."

    I believe that it is flashed to fully support EFI.

    Thanks for the suggestion, do you think I should buy an original card to try?
     
  4. Fangio, Nov 10, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2016

    Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #4
    Already thought something like that.. ;)
    doesn't always mean the seller has flashed it properly. Do you get a bootscreen?

    As for the firmware upgrade, I take it you don't have the original card. I'd borrow an EFI card, or get an inexpensive GT120 with Mac EFI and try with that one.
     
  5. LooseBoard thread starter macrumors newbie

    LooseBoard

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #5
    I do get a boot screen and had what I believe was the flash screen. I do not have any other Mac video cards. It came with a professional NVidia card that did not support 4K video so I upgraded. I will buy a GT120.

    Do you think El Capitan might be the issue? I read about a need to disable "SIP" on a thread somewhere.
     
  6. Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #6
    Oh absolutely, try this first. Disabling SIP is mandatory when you're running El Capitan. Use this command in Terminal while booted into the recovery
    Code:
    csrutil disable
     

Share This Page