Need help with IMAC URGENT!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sisco22, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. sisco22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I am trying to figure out what is going on with my IMac. It has the Apple Logo up there with the sprocket spinning around and is not booting up. Can someone help me with this?
    thanks!
     
  2. MacLadybug macrumors 6502a

    MacLadybug

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #2
    Have you tried holding the power button in until it just shuts down or restarts? Also, after it shuts down, for the heck of it, unplug power and replug it in then restart... see if that clears things out.
     
  3. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #3
    OK try this. Get out your install DVD and insert into the drive and boot to the DVD. Once you are in, go to Disk Utilities, its in one of the top menu bars, can't remember which off the top of my head and repair all disk permission. Then try rebooting.

    -iGrant
     
  4. sisco22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #4
    well i got to the login screen and i can't remember the password to the stupid thing. i've tried every password that i might be it and it won't let me in. I tried looking for my DVD's but they are nowhere to be found. This thing has been sitting in my closet for a while and im just now getting it out to mess with it.
     
  5. sisco22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #5
    I think i might have it on one of my external drives. I make images of all my software, so in cases like this where i lose the disks then i still have them. Is there a way to boot from an external harddrive and load the image? The image is almost 8gigs.
     
  6. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #6
    Well you could boot your iMac in Target Disk Mode and connect it via Firewire to another Mac. Just the other Macs Applications->Utilities->Disk Utility to do a Permissions Repair.

    -iGrant
     
  7. sisco22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #7
    Problem is..this is the only mac i have :( lol I usually use PC's. But i got this b/c of certain applications that i use.
     
  8. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #8
    Do you have an old ipod that can use a firewire cable? If so you can load the image onto the iPod, just google it, lots of people have done it. If not your best bet is going to burn a Dual Layer DVD, also known as DVD-DL.

    -iGrant
     
  9. sisco22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #9
    I finally figured out the password. So im back in it..but my wireless mouse is dead. I can't figure out how to change the batteries in it. Any clue on that? and i really appreciate all the advice!
     
  10. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #10
    Like the Apple Wireless Mouse? There should just be a thing on the bottom that you pop off and replace the batteries.

    -iGrant
     
  11. sisco22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #11
    Yes its the Apple Wireless Mouse. I push the little release tab back and pull it and its like the whole base is gonna come off but it won't.
     
  12. sisco22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #12
    here is a pic of it


    [​IMG]
     
  13. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #13
    yeah that tab you just push in and that plate comes off. There should be batteries inside.

    -iGrant
     
  14. dannyboxer macrumors regular

    dannyboxer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #14
    On my Apple wireless mouse, to get the batteries out I just flick the tab and the compartment falls off. If this doesn't work for some reason why not just use another mouse from a PC?
     

Share This Page