Resolved Need help with Mac Mini '06 to TV

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Diogones, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. Diogones, Sep 27, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011

    Diogones macrumors regular

    Diogones

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #1
    I have a 2006 Mac Mini Core Duo, and I'm trying to hook it up to my older analog tube TV. For the most part, I understand how I'm going to do this, but I'm uncertain about the right cables to buy. For example, I've seen that the recommended VGA to RCA or S-video cable by Apple: http://store.apple.com/us/product/M9267G/A?mco=4BB568D3

    In an attempt to save money, I was considering buying a generic one like this: http://tinyurl.com/3mp45xc The product description mentions that the video card in the Mac must support TV-Out functionality, and I didn't know if the 06' model did or if I absolutely had to have the Apple adapter.

    The TV only has S-Video and the RCA Composite (Red White and Yellow) hookups, so a direct DVI to Component cable wouldn't work. Incidentally, I've noticed that there doesn't seem to be any DVI to Composite cables floating around, so I suppose I must use my DVI to VGA adapter on the Mini.
     
  2. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    Get the apple one. It will be easier and you will no it will work. If it does not you can get a refund.
     
  3. mcb001982 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan NY
    #3
    I picked up a DVI to HDMI cable off amazon and it works just fine.
     
  4. Diogones thread starter macrumors regular

    Diogones

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #4
    Thank you for your help wrinkster - I'm sure the Apple adapter will work just fine. My question was, "Does any other adapter work?" I know that Apple will sometimes offer overpriced versions of cheap, common cables and attachments, which is why I was asking.

    I'm glad the DVI to HDMI adapter worked for you mcb, however my TV doesn't have HDMI, or I'd certainly pursue that option, just for the sake of simplicity. Do you have a 06' or 07' Mac, or do you have one of the more recent models that uses mini-DVI? I suppose DVI doesn't have an adapter that will connect to a composite setup, but it will work with HDMI and component just fine.
     
  5. Diogones thread starter macrumors regular

    Diogones

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #5
    It looks like the only cable I can find that would work is this VGA adapter. In which case, I will need a DVI to VGA converter. There just doesn't seem to be any other regular sized DVI to S-video or composite video adapters around other than the Apple one I've already mentioned
     
  6. Diogones thread starter macrumors regular

    Diogones

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #6
    Signal issues

    Well I finally got the Apple Dvi to Video adapter, and I've attached it, but now I've run into a snag. When I first attached the adapter to the Mini, and then to the TV via S-Video, the picture was all right. But after I tried to change the resolution, the TV started flickering and the picture changed to black and white. The screen essentially became unreadable, and I haven't been able to find a solution.

    I restarted the Mac, I've tried a different S-Video cable, and I've ensured that the TV was on the "Video 1" output, which is what the TV uses. I also tried using the yellow composite video instead, with the same results. Regardless of which video input I use, the TV is a mess.

    Is there a way that I can change the Mac Display Preferences from PAL to NTSC? I'm thinking that could be the possible cause of the problem, so if I could change the signal protocol, maybe that would work. I just don't think it's a bad adapter, because it is brand new, and I have found other instances, in both this forum and others, of this precise adapter displaying these symptoms. Should I try a VGA adapter instead, or is there another solution?
     
  7. Diogones thread starter macrumors regular

    Diogones

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #7
    Hooray! I finally got the TV working! I just booted in safe mode and reset my display configuration, and I was good to go!
     

Share This Page