need help with macbook just installed snow...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by timstarockz, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. timstarockz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #1
    i was copying snow leopard on to my hard drive and 1 file extracted and "quicklooked" kept crashing then i opened terminal and it could not find the $HOME directory and no applications would launch. then i restarted my mac and now it wont turn on, and i cant use the snow leopard dvd anymore because it expired on me and i dont know why. SOMEONE PLEASE HELP
    ALL MY IMPORTANT FILES ARE ON THERE INCLUDING MMS FOR IPHONE AND TWEETME FOR IPHONE ALONG WITH SOME OTHER MAC APPS!

    please respond!
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  3. dmw2692004 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
  4. timstarockz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #4
    snow leopard

    i got it from my friend who went to WWDC
     
  5. timstarockz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #5
    got it from a friend
     
  6. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #6
    Ask "your friend" for help.;)
     
  7. timstarockz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #7
    i already did he said "i dont do hardware"
     
  8. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #8
    There's a reason they haven't released it yet, you now know why. Try using your Leopard disk to just reinstall Leopard, then buy a legitimate copy of Snow Leopard when it is released and stable. Also, this isn't hardware related, tell your friend to help you.
     
  9. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #9
    Agreed. And it's not like Snow Leopard offers anything at all feature-wise, or ... anything-wise for that matter over Leopard.
     
  10. timstarockz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #10
    i said that i was copying it not installing it and the Essentials.pkg extracted i didnt do it on purpose , but thanks iToaster
     
  11. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #11
    What?
    You copied the Snow Leopard Disk onto your HD and you expect it to work?
    First of all, I just want to say, it is a good idea to actually launch the installer.
    Second of all, you should ask your friend. After all, if he is knowledgable enough to go to WWDC, he should know something about this.
    Third, this is beta software- use at your own risk.
    Lastly, I would solve it by getting a legitimate disk/ restore disk and restoring your computer from there.
    Good Luck!:)
     
  12. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #12
    yup
     
  13. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    uuumm have you been under a rock lol?? TrainStation (or whatever it is) will be great. offloading stuff to the GPU is great. its going to be a very nice upgrade (all under the hood).
     

Share This Page