Need help with Memory

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Littleboo, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. Littleboo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #1
    I have a 1.8 GHz PowerPC G5. my memory is 1.5 GB DDR SDRAM. I recently installed the new system and now my computer is slow so I need to pump it up! Do my numbers show the reason it's been slow? I went on the apple website to buy memory, but I don't see my computer on the list and I'm not sure if PowerPc is the actual name of my computer. I don't think it's Intel or iSight based, but I have no idea how to figure it out. It's 3 years old.
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Is this a silver tower, or all-in-one? The former is the PowerMac G5, the latter is the iMac G5. I believe they use DDR2 memory, but don't quote me on that as I've not dealt a lot with the G5s.

    TEG
     
  3. Littleboo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #3
    It's a all in one. Is is possible that the Apple store doesn't sell this anymore?
     
  4. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #4
    Even if Apple had your memory, don't buy it from them because they overcharge, there are 3rd party stores that sell quality RAM for cheaper. I've been a happy customer of Crucial.com

    Check this out too:
    http://guides.macrumors.com/Buying_RAM
     
  5. Littleboo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #5
    so I went to Crucial.com and did the scan. it told me that I have no open slots on my machine. So it's saying to remove one 512 and put in 1 GB. Will this make a big difference? it would give me 2GB
     
  6. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #6
    I'm guessing you have an iMac then since it seems Crucial scan is giving you a 2GB max on RAM. It will improve speed, but that's relative to what a "big difference" is to you.

    Take a look at this article and see if any of these work for you before you buy RAM.

    Be careful with Tinkertools and Onyx, I don't like using 3rd party apps to optimize my computer and I've seen both positive and negative results using these apps.

    I recommend #1, 11, 12, and 19. And if you are not comfortable or certain about any of the suggestions in the article skip it or search for more info first.

    Is there a particular task or certain applications that seem slow now?
     
  7. LouisBlack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Balham, London
    #7
    You're right. Your computer can only hold 2GB of RAM. 1GB in each of it's 2 slots.
     
  8. Littleboo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #8
    the article was really helpful. I would like to remove all the unwanted language but I'm on Lepoard, so the suggested application isn't for that. Can I just drag them to the trash?

    I also want to disable dashboard, but I can't figure out how. I looked in the preferences panel but I don't see it.

    All the programs are slow. the whole computer is slow as a whole.

    I looked at the HD and I have about 23GB available.

    thank you all. it's been so helpful!
     
  9. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #9
    I've used Monolingual with no issues on Leopard. I downloaded it from versiontracker.com which says it's OK for Leopard.

    Here's a way to disable Dashboard. Just keep it bookmarked in case you decide to use Dashboard again in the future.
     

Share This Page