Need help with migration assist from 10.6.8 to 10.7.x

Discussion in 'macOS' started by koban4max, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #1
    I need help on Migration Assistant. I need to transfer files to my MBP '11 os x lion. I updated both of my computers to the lastest whatever version they are for both os x. I am wondering what's the lastest version of MA for snow leopard to transfer the files to os x lion? I tried to transfer, but the target mac can't receive any information from source mac... help.
     
  2. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #2
    What computer are you transferring from? make sure you follow the instructions correctly, plugging the firewire cable in correctly n all that, as the computers don't recognise each other else.

    What kind of errors are occurring?

    Need some more specifics :)
     
  3. koban4max thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #3
    :D thx for reply. I am transferring from MBP '11 to MacPro 09 10.6.8 wirelessly.
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    You won't be able to transfer in that direction...but I think you're stating it backwards here.

    I'm pretty sure the latest for SL is Migration Assistant Update for Mac OS X Snow Leopard v1.0.

    You'll have a much better experience if you can connect those two directly to your router via ethernet.
     
  5. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I wasn't even aware that migration assistant worked over wireless, I have only previously gotten it to work (albeit thats only once) via ethernet.

    I agree with BrianBaughn, if apparently migration assistant does work via wireless, then cool, but it will take about 7 years to transfer all the stuff across. Ethernet is a much more viable option, heck, use firewire 400, although both your machines should have 800 so that will be faster than wireless as well...

    Good luck
     

Share This Page