Need Help with Mini display on LCD TV

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ILikeTurtles, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. ILikeTurtles macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #1
    I just connected my Mini to my Sony 42" LCD. It worked fine.

    I went into Preferences to change the screen resolution to 1080p (it was on 1080i by default) and when I made the change, the screen went black. The Mini is connected via HDMI.

    Turned everything off and restarted - all I get now is a black screen.

    Any ideas on how I can fix this? lol
     
  2. albusseverus macrumors 6502a

    albusseverus

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #2
    Which preferences did you adjust to 1080p? The television's, the Mini's System Preferences or another application?

    Is it possible the Sony doesn't do 1080p? It should take a 1080p signal even if it can't completely display it (down-convert to 1080i).

    The Mini would need to be a recent Intel Mini with at least 2GB of RAM to handle 1080p.

    EyeTV doesn't really do 1080p, it only does 1080i, if that's what you're using.
     
  3. ILikeTurtles thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #3
    Its a current Intel based Mini. The Sony Bravia LCD is 1080p.

    I adjusted the Mini's display settings (in Preferences) for 1080p (it was originally on 1080i when it first was working fine) and then the screen went black.

    Upon restart - I can see they gray screen with Apple logo, but once it boots all I get is a black screen.

    I did a Google search on this problem, and it appears others have encountered this as well, and have don a pram reset to get it back to 1080i.

    But still - this doesn't address why the screen would go black on the 1080p setting on the Mini. Strange.

    Could there be a problem with the video card in the Mini?

    I'm not using EyeTV, just planning to use hulu and Plex.
     
  4. albusseverus macrumors 6502a

    albusseverus

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #4
    Unless it's one of those famous Nvidia glitches, which I'm getting tired of hearing about. Isn't there anything better than Nvidia? It could be DHCP related.

    Maybe the Sony is blocking the Mac because it isn't getting DHCP handshake from the Mac as it's coming from a DVI port?? I'm guessing here, but some Google work might find an answer if you throw your Sony's model number and DHCP and Mac Mini into the search.

    Wish I could be more help.
     
  5. tchockey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #5
    hi
    google how to go into safe mode on the mini, I think its restart and hold shift. or go to apple and punch in safe mode.

    It will restart the mini and the display will appear and you can change res back.
    then restart mini again. that should fix your problem.
    I did the same thing.
    hope that helps.
    mickey
     
  6. ILikeTurtles thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #6
    Thank you all. I will give it a try when I get home.

    Doing a Google search, it appears to be a "handshake" problem - as you suspected with the NVIDIA card.
     

Share This Page