Need help with Motion tracking and behaviors for film

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Zwhaler, Mar 16, 2012.

1. Zwhaler macrumors 603

Zwhaler

I have little experience with Motion, but basically what I am seeking to accomplish is to take a shot that I have panning across the front of a movie theater sign showing the current movies that are out, and edit that shot with my own custom title so that the theater sign shows different text that I put in. Now, if I simply overlaid a title then some of the original words beneath might still show, so I'm thinking I might fit a generator over the original text and motion track it with the custom title on top of it, so there would be two layers, both motion tracked. I found some help pages on this subject from Apple but would like some feedback from fellow users/editors detailing how to go about this process. Motion 5 and FCP X here. Thanks for any suggestions & info.

2. floh macrumors 6502

First: I hope you did not pan very far. :) Otherwise, you are going to have significant 3D movement happening to your sign. Motion can only do 2D tracking, which is fine for many things but might fail (i.e. look very unrealistic) for extensive camera movement. In this case, you will probably need a 3D match moving tool. If so, let us know and we'll point out some.

Second: If you have already mastered the tracking with simple text and are just annoyed by the background, you can always just create the complete sign (background and text) in some graphics programm and have that be tracked in Motion. Unless you want the text animated in some way...

Third: I am absolutely not a Motion expert, but I can remember there is a simple way to motion track several objects or layers to a single path: