Need Help With MSL code unlocking.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Amaro2021, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. Amaro2021 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    #1
    So i'm with sprint and they are terminating my contract for roaming, so i called them and ask them to unlock my Iphone of course they said the usual bs and gave me a MSL code. I would like to know has anybody had any success with the Iphone 5 and unlocking it by the MSL if so how it is done? and i'm trying to go with t-mobile by the way thank you.:apple::apple:
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    No such thing as code unlocking with iphones.
    If Sprint unlocks an iphone is only for international GSM use.
    So you will not be able to use it with any other USA carrier even if they did unlock it.
     
  3. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #3
    If Sprint truly gave you an MSL code, then there should be instructions on how to enter it into the phone to unlock it.

    If not, one possibility is that you'll have to insert the T-Mobile SIM first before you're asked to enter it.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Did you read what I posted above?
     
  5. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #5
    Sprint iPhones can't be unlocked for domestic usage. Only int'l use.

    Best way would be to sell it online/CL and get a AT&T/TMo/VZW one.
     
  6. koukouros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    #6
    i am from greece and i have bought a US sprint iphone 5. the seller send me the msl code. can somehow unlock the phone officialy with this code? i don't know how to use the code. my carriers and apple can't help me with that! everyone are telling me that i need to talk with sprint and tell them to unlock my phone...! i ask from the seller to unlock the phone and he send me this msl code :/
    what i do???

    ----------

    can i unlock the phone with the msl code? or i need a fully unlock from sprint direct?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    The seller lied to you.
    There is no msl code with iPhones.
    They are unlocked different.
     
  8. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #8
    No. You CANT fully unlock it.
     
  9. koukouros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    #9
    So can someone please tell me what i have to do!
    i have contact my seller! i told him that i don't know how to use this msl code!
    he said to me that he has contact with sprint and they told him to search on google "how to use msl code".
    Moreover, is there a possible way to unlock officialy the iphone 5 6.1.4 from sprint so i can use it with my carrier here in europe!???
    somebody has earlier answer that sprint unlock the phone only for international usage and not for any other carrier in US?! Is that true? is this mean that i can unlock it , since i want to use it in europe? please guys i need help :/ i have tried many ways of unlock! i have even chated with stupid sprint chaters on the web! someone with a clear and understanable answer (if this word exist) :p
    thank you in advance and sorry for my english!

    ----------

    that answer! and what do you mean IF??? :/ :( how sprint will unlock this ********G phone!!! that's why you have a lot of terrorist in US,because of these stupid policies of your companies! (of course i am joking)
     
  10. Judahlake987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    #10
    Just so people knows I have a spring iphone 5 that I have successfully unlocked and I am using on tmobile network in the unites states. The only problem I have is I can't remove the old sprint phone number off the phone so at times when I send a picture it sends as a group message between my number the old sprint number and the number I sent the picture to
     
  11. cljacobs1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
  12. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #12
    Proof?
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    He's probably using a gevey sim adapter.
     
  14. vivi2682 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    #14
    how could i unlock my sprint iphone 5? Please i need help with it
     
  15. Retro84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    #15
    Yes Sprint DOES give MSL code

    I'm in the same boat. I have an iPhone 4s that I used to travel overseas with. I was able to get them to unlock it for overseas use with no issues, but they wouldn't unlock it for state-side use. At the time it didn't matter as I was still using Sprint when I came home to the USA each time. But now, I have completed my 2 year contract and I plan to sell this phone. I wanted to sell it unlocked and I heard of recent changes on the rules about unlocking after completing contracts and decided to give it a try. Sure enough, sprint gave me the MSL codes for the iPhone. Problem is, I have no idea how to use them. The guy at sprint said I should just give that to my new carrier and they would know what to do. I went down to the AT&T store (iPhone4s works on CDMA and GSM networks so yes, the sprint phone will work on AT&T / Tmobile GSM networks) but they have no idea on what to do with the MSL code. Calling AT&T support yielded the same result. SO, I have msl codes for each of my 3 phones. Anyone here able to enter the MSL into their phone successfully? If so, I would love to know how.
     
  16. jmsxxx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #16
    Hi Koukouros,

    Have you had any luck in unlocking this phone? I've been trying to get my iPhone 4S unlocked since October 2013, so I can understand your pain. It also hurts me to see citizens and companies of my country screwing others over. There is also tons of misinformation from posters here, as well as Sprint customer service, so I will try to steer us all on the right course.

    First, I doubt you will get the phone unlocked through Sprint since it is no longer active on their network. But if you want to try, sprint.com/swwsupport or 1-888-226-7212, is the Sprint WorldWide customer service - I'm assuming you've already contacted them though.

    So, this leaves us with 2 options: a downloaded software unlock or an unlock through a website called http://www.yourappleiphone.com (one which I trust after researching). Both are going to charge a fee (some software unlocks are free though), the yourappleiphone fee is going to be more though. But if Sprint doesn't get their unlocking procedures changed soon (like they said they would in Dec 2013), I'm going to use the yourappleiphone solution. So about the downloaded software unlock. The plus side is that it seems to be much cheaper, sometimes around 30 USD or free. The bad side is that it is software that must be updated with any iOS updates Apple does. So the phone is unlocked due to the software, but it really isn't actually unlocked, because Apple isn't recognizing it as such. The downside to yourappleiphone is that I would pay 150 USD, but the good side is that Apple will recognize it as officially unlocked, and you do not need to worry about their software updates etc.

    So do your own research, when you do, I would recommend googling questions, but be weary of software unlocks or other unlocks you find straight from google. I've been getting my information/recommendations from tech sites as well as review blogs. Let me know if you have any questions!

    Thanks, Joe
     
  17. longlostpuppy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    #17
    Reply

    if you unlock a phone using the msl or jailbreak it the phone it would accept the SIM, but it’s not going to work with T-Mobile because of the frequencies they use, it also won’t work on verizon since they are cdma and the device doesn’t authenticate on cdma using the sim because its made for sprint. att might work in some locations but they use a 68k sim and sprint uses a 128k sim. just fyi :) you can get an msl code thru sprint if you meet their qualifications but from what i understand their system doesnt generate one for devices after the i4s.
     

Share This Page