Need Help with my upgrade decision

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jjedwards, Dec 6, 2012.

1. jjedwards macrumors newbie

Hi All,

I am planning on upgrading from my 2007 white MacBook 2.2 GHZ Intel Core 2 Duo 1 GB Ram.

I got the MacBook as a Christmas present in 2007 and it has been wonderful, no complaints. But it is time to upgrade! It is so slow!

Anyways, I am not a gamer. I don't edit movies, music, or videos. My full time job is as an investigator and I am an evening division law student. Majority of the time, I have Chrome, Spotify, Evernote, Thunderbird, and sometimes powerpoint and word open all at the same time. So I would like something that will last 6 more years like my current laptop and capable of running multiple apps at one time.

What are your thoughts? I would like a 15 inch, because I like the bigger screen, but that is a requirement. I am more worried about the longevity (I want my monies worth) and speed.

Thanks!

2. greenchiliman macrumors 6502

If your computer is working fine and you are looking for more speed - have you thought of upgrading your ram and either a hybrid-drive or SSD?

3. jjedwards thread starter macrumors newbie

I have, but the fact of the manner is that the computer is six years old. Upgrading my RAM to 4 GB when the computer can only process 3 GB doesn't seem worth it. Also, it may buy me some time, but eventually I would have to upgrade. Also, it doesn't work fine. It over heats, freezes, and so on.

4. Raunien macrumors 6502

If you are set on 15 inch notebook, and you are on a budget a very good option is the 15 inch 2011 MBP on Apple's website. They are still available for a very competitive price point. One of the best deals IMO

5. CosmoPilot macrumors 65816

CosmoPilot