Need help with new graphics card installation

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by RonLacy, Oct 2, 2015.

  1. RonLacy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    New to MacRumors. This is my first post.

    I am trying to install a new graphics/display card in my 2009 Mac Pro running 10.10.5. Removing the NVIDA GeForce GT 120 and trying to replace it with the GeForce GTX 970. I have installed the driver from the NVIDA website but nothing displays on the monitor when I turn on the computer. After a while the computer just shuts off. After reading a bit on this forum I am wondering if the GTX 970 requires two more power connections for the card to work? No connectors came with the card, so I am unsure. I really need a better card in my Mac to process images. Any advice, ideas, or suggestions would be much appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.

    Ron
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    AFAIK, they are the power cord for the card, NOT optional.

    Also, the driver has to be installed AND activated, otherwise, you can get nothing more than black screen.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    Yes power is required from the mobo. All modern high end GPUs, of which the GTX 970 requires supplemental power. And, as mentioned, you need the Nvidia Web Driver for the card to operate a Maxwell based card.
     
  4. RonLacy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #4
    flowrider-

    Thanks for the reply. If I understand, I need to buy two power cords for this card and connect them to the mother board in order for the card to have enough power to work--do I have that straight? The previous poster said I must also "activate" the driver. How do I "activate" the driver?

    Your help is appreciated
    Ron
     
  5. RonLacy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    h9826790--

    Thanks for the reply. How do I "activate" the driver? I have never done this before. And yes, all I am getting is a black screen.

    Your help is appreciated.

    Thanks
    Ron
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    ^^^^Yes you need two power cables. Does the card have six or eight pin connectors or a combination of both? Activating the driver simply means installing it. If it were me, I'd install it with your old card and make sure it's turned on. Also don't forget the CUDA Driver.

    Lou
     
  7. RonLacy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #7
    Lou-
    They are six pin connectors--I think--the card is still in the computer so I will have to open it up to check.

    I did install the CUDA driver while the GT 120 was in the machine. How do I make sure it is turned on? I thought it would just automatically be "on"? Is the CUDA driver the only one I need? Not even sure what a CUDA driver is but I installed the recommended one from the NVIDA website.

    Thanks
    Ron
     
  8. ActionableMango, Oct 2, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2015

    ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    You need a pair of power cables like this:
    http://www.svideo.com/x1900.html

    You need to install the Nvidia web driver but it sounds like you've already done so. You can double check to see which driver is enabled in the Nvidia Driver Manager.

    The CUDA driver is optional and has nothing to do screen visibility. You probably don't need it at all unless you are using specialized applications that support CUDA acceleration.
     
  9. RonLacy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #9
    ActionableMango--

    Thanks for the info. I'll get the cables, check the Nvidia Driver Manger and give this another go.

    I appreciate all of the info. on this forum.

    Thanks
    Ron
     
  10. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  12. RonLacy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #12
    Lou-
    Thanks for the link to the cables. I understand where they connect to the card, but I can't find a place on the computer where they would connect. Can you give me some guidance? I have taken the 970 card out and replaced it with my old 120 card until I can get the cables. I have been looking for about 10 minutes but can't see a connection on the mobo. Can you give me directions as to where that connection would be?

    Thanks
    Ron
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 06.31.08.jpg
    Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 06.31.22.jpg
     
  14. RonLacy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #14
    h9826790--

    Thanks for the picture showing the location of the connections. Very helpful. Another question. As your graphic shows the connections on the mother board are 6 pin connectors. The connector on the card is one 8-pin connection. How do I connect an 8-pin card to a 6-pin mother board? Do them make cords that are 8 on one went and 6 on the other? Sorry to pester you guys with such basic questions, but as I said before I have never done this before and I am learning as we go.

    Thanks
    Ron
     
  15. RonLacy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    #16
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    Buy and install the cable is easy. However, the problem is that a 8pin may draw up to 150W but the 6pin technically can only supply up to 75W.

    In real, it will work with a mini 6pin to 8 pin adaptor, and most likely nothing dramatic will happen. But you should know what you are doing.
     
  17. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #18
    In post #7 you said the card had 6 pin connectors and in post #14 you said it has an 8-pin connection. You need to be very clear about the connectors on the card or you will get the wrong advice.

    If your card has two 6-pin connectors, just get two of the cables I linked to.

    If your card has one 8-pin connector, get two of the cables I linked to, plus a y-cable that combines the two into a single 8-pin for the card.

    If your card has one 6-pin and one 8-pin connector, then it is not designed to work with the Mac Pro power, but you might be able to get away with it anyway. Simply plug in the two cables I linked to without using an adapter (the 8-pin socket is designed to accept a 6-pin connector).

    Personally I would generally avoid using a 6-to-8 pin adapter because the adapter "tells" the card that it can pull 150W from the motherboard socket even though that socket is rated for 75W. But on a 970 this is probably all fine anyway.

    If your card has two 8-pin connectors, return it and get a card with two 6-pin connectors. I don't think there's a 970 with two 8-pin connectors, but I suppose there could be such a thing.
     
  18. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #19
    ^^^^My MVC Modded accelerated GTX 780 has two 8 pin connections and on both connectors, MVC shorted two of the pins so a six pin cable would work. I've been using my GPU for better than 2 years now with no ill effects. My UPS reads wattage draw and my system (monitor included) vacillates from the 260's to the very low 300's in total wattage draw. The GTX 970 should be fine.

    Lou
     

Share This Page