Need help with new imac 27 inch guys

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Rud3Bwoy, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. Rud3Bwoy Suspended

    Rud3Bwoy

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #1
    Ok so is coming next week

    as for the ram what ram sticks should i buy?can i keep the current ones or i have to replace all i want to max out the ram for the imac.


    also i have a logitech z5500 speakers what do i need in order to use my speakers?

    NVIDIAGeForceGTX780M 4GB GDDR5
    3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
    8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM-2X4GB
    512GB Flash Storage
    MAGIC TRACKPAD
    Apple Num Kybd(Eng)+User's Gd
    COUNTRY KIT
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    To max out the RAM to 32GB, you're going to have to replace the existing sticks and purchase 4x8GB DDR3 1600MHz of RAM sticks.
     
  3. Rud3Bwoy thread starter Suspended

    Rud3Bwoy

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #3
    that's fine any links for which i should get?
     
  4. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
  5. Dullnote macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    Sorry I can't help, just my new and very first imac comes today, can't wait, is that a delivery van I hear, no not yet

    Sorry about stealing the thread just excited, like a child at Christmas


    Dullnote
     
  6. Fietsbel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #6
  7. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
  8. jdblas69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    #8
    Another option is you could buy a 16gb kit and add them to the existing 8gb and run 24gb and see how that works out for you. Unless your mind is set on maxing out the ram.
     
  9. playaproved macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    #9
    Hopefully I'm not stepping on anyones toes here...

    Is the hard drive in the 27" iMac easily upgraded as well? Debating ordering the 3TB fusion drive or possibly sourcing my own HDD upgrade.
     
  10. jdblas69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    #10
    The 2012/13 iMac's are rather difficult to open up and swap out the HDD, depends on your comfort level I guess. You can check out ifixit guide to get an idea of what is involved. Also this will void your warranty.
     
  11. Rud3Bwoy thread starter Suspended

    Rud3Bwoy

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #11
    Thanks thats the memory i've seen and decided to go with ill sell the other ram the system comes with if anyone is interested when it comes lol.
     

Share This Page