Need help with Snow Leopard upgrade

Discussion in 'macOS' started by i-sidd, Jan 24, 2011.

1. i-sidd macrumors 6502a

Hi all,

My wife will be getting the iphone 4 soon and I just found out that the iphone 4 can't be used with my current Tiger 10.4.11. So now I have to upgrade my OSX
    to SL.

As I said I have tiger 10.4.11 on my macbook, 2GHz inter core duo, 2GB memory.

I am not very good at this but can I buy the $29 SL disk and do a fresh install. How easy or difficult is a fresh install. I am a noob and feel like I will screw something up. Should I go to a professional store and pay them to install the operating system for me.

Its a refurbished macbook, so I don't have the Tiger OSX dvd incase something goes wrong to restore back to.

Kindly help me........is there a step by step instruction on how to do this.

2. simsaladimbamba

3. walterwhite macrumors 6502

walterwhite

29$ OS X 10.6 works fine

Hi,
    the $29 install works fine with a fresh install and is the same DVD as the one in the "Box Set"... you should buy the iLife'11 for $79 because 10.6 needs some of those resources and you will more than likely need the updated software.

Just do the upgrade from 10.4.x BUT PLEASE do yourself a favor and do a backup first. (Drag your home folder to an external drive) Then you can use that same drive as your Time Machine Backup once you are on 10.6 and have completed your updates to 10.6.6 etc...

WW

4. i-sidd thread starter macrumors 6502a

So under users, I have my home button which I transferred to my external drive. It shows as 27.59 GB.

Will this home include music and pics. What about the apps, do I have to copy them separately.

Thanks for the instructions link, but I am a little confused, Do I just put the SL disk in my macbook and follow the instructions on the screen. Will i be able to buy that dvd from an apple store?

What if I don't buy the ilife 11 now and buy it later, will SL include itunes, iphoto etc.

Sorry for these noob questions