need help with specs for recording setup!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by angrynrdrckr, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. angrynrdrckr macrumors newbie

    angrynrdrckr

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    ny
    #1
    I'm looking to set up a digital studio running pro tools m-powered 7.0 and ableton live 5.0. there are so many options these days, between mac books, mac book pros, and imacs that i can't really decide what's necessary and what's not.

    i know that i will be buying 4 gb worth of ram from a 3rd party. that's a given. it's a given because i need that much ram to run midi / plugins on protools, and it's also a given because apple charges a premium for ram that qualifies you as insane if you actually purchase upgraded memory from them.

    but what about processor speeds? is a 2.2 ghz macbook "just enough"? or is it actually good enough for what i'll be doing? what's the difference between a 2.2 ghz and a 2.4 ghz processor in terms of audio-heavy programs like pro tools? what about the 2.8 ghz core extreme? is it that much better?

    as far as the hard drive, i know that i'm supposed to have one that spins @ 7200 rpm. macbook doesn't offer this. MBP and iMac do. but what about if i install a 32gb SSD into a MB or MBP simply to run programs from and save all the audio and other files to a 500 gb time capsule / external drive? would that be better than simply using the 7200-rpm imac (or upgraded MBP) drive? or does it not make a big difference?



    so, the main questions here:

    1. 2.2, 2.4, or 2.8 ghz? core 2 duo or extreme?
    2. 7200-rpm MBP/imac hard drive or SSD in MB/MBP?
    3. MB, MBP or imac?


    any help is appreciated. thanks.
     
  2. blasius macrumors newbie

    blasius

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    cleveland ohio
    #2
    I was using protools 7.1.1 with a Imac 2.0 ghz and 2 gigs of ram and it was alright.... I now use a macbook pro 2.33 ghz with 2gb of ram and it flys.... I'm positive that you don't need more than 2gb of ram cause i have put my computer the the limit with plugins and midi and it has been awesome. so if you get a macbook pro with 2.4 ghz you will be set for everything

    hope this helps
    cb
     
  3. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #3
    External Firewire Hard Drive for you audio files too.
     
  4. angrynrdrckr thread starter macrumors newbie

    angrynrdrckr

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    ny
    #4



    interesting, because i've heard so much about the importance of ram... thanks
     
  5. angrynrdrckr thread starter macrumors newbie

    angrynrdrckr

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    ny
    #5

    of course, that's what i meant by the time capsule or external drive... i don't plan on using the internal drive for anything more than the applications themselves
     
  6. MAW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Save your tiger disk though, since digidesign's dragging their feet with an update for leopard. And if you have any m-audio controllers you're f***ed there too for the time being.
     
  7. angrynrdrckr thread starter macrumors newbie

    angrynrdrckr

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    ny
    #7



    yup... i have already made plans to partition my internal drive as soon as i get it and install tiger, pro tools and ableton live to that partition. annoying.
     

Share This Page