Need help with Statistics homework

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by bobfitz14, Oct 8, 2009.

1. bobfitz14 macrumors 65816

bobfitz14

okay so here's the question:
    a. The mean time was 102.71 seconds with a standard deviation of 3.01 seconds. If the normal model is appropriate, what percent of times will be less than 99.7 seconds?

b. What is the actual percent of times less than 99.7 seconds?

this is an odd numbered question so the answer is in the back of my textbook but i want to know how to get it. the answer for A is about 16% and the answer for B is 5.7%. anyone know how??

2. bobfitz14 thread starter macrumors 65816

bobfitz14

3. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

Signal-11

I have a degree that says I'm pretty good with statistics but I can't help you because you haven't completely stated your problem.

The answer to A will be obvious by looking in your book under the definition of standard deviation and normal distributions. B, you haven't typed out correctly.

4. anjinha macrumors 604

anjinha

5. AngryApple macrumors 6502

(1-phi(1))*100% = 16%
    my best guess.I bet it is wrong but uh i've never been good at anything like this.
    You could try Wolframalpha and see what it says.

6. fireshot91 macrumors 601

fireshot91

From how you typed it up, isn't the answer to A and B the same thing?

7. AngryApple macrumors 6502

Good point.

8. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

Signal-11

Isn't this what I said three posts up?

9. fireshot91 macrumors 601

fireshot91

Technically, you said he didn't type B correctly. :p.

You can take the credit for pointing out his mistake, It's not like it matters...:eek:

10. bobfitz14 thread starter macrumors 65816

bobfitz14

to those saying i didn't type it correctly i'm rereading the whole problem right now and the only thing i left out was the data list (which i don't think i need to type up nor want to cause it has 53 values).