iPhone Need help with stuck iphone 3G.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nachocone, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. nachocone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #1
    Hi to everyone, Im from Argentina and this is my first time in the forum.

    Last week I bought on eBay an old iphone 3G for my mother, and received it today.

    It had cydia installed on it but it was running very solo and being 0 experienced in Jailbroken phones I "erased all contents and settings" it got stuck on the boot screen and never started running.

    Reading thru the forum I got the phone on recovery mode and connected it to itunes to restore it.

    The issue is that after a while I get a message that an unknown error had occured (code 1015) and the iphone gets back to the connect to itunes screen.

    I've run this several times with the same result.

    I just want to get the phone back to factory settings, I dont care if I loose the jailbreak.

    Being a 0 experienced jailbreak user, could someone please explain me how to solve this issue please??

    Thanks so much!
    Ignacio
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    Which firmware version and Baseband version you have?

    Do you have any SHSH/blobs for the device? ( check with iFaith or redsn0w)

    If you loose the jailbreak you also loose the unlock.
     
  3. lewisweekly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Location:
    Cambridge area
    #3
    As stated aboth find out what firmware you are running and try restoring to the latest firmware download link for firmwares below, if not try putting the device into DFU then re-jailbreaking. After that has completed try restoring again.

    Download firmware:
    http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/
     
  4. nachocone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #4
    Hi, thanks for your answers. Is there a way I find the firmware version and baseband even though the phone is stuck on the apple logo screen?
     
  5. lewisweekly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Location:
    Cambridge area
    #5
    Don't think so :/ try putting the device into DFU mode and re-jailbreak it using which ever software you feel comfortable with. Then you can just go into the settings of the device and see for yourself.
     
  6. nachocone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #6
    OK, this is what i've done so far

    Downloaded sn0wbreeze,

    Downloaded Firmware for iOs 4.0, Followed the on screen steps to Shift+Restore and Got a 1600 error and could not restore.

    I will keep on trying with newer versions of the firmware and see if I can get somewhere.
     
  7. lewisweekly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Location:
    Cambridge area
    #7
    completely forgot you need the firmware to jailbreak! :/ yeah that's all you can do really, if it doesn't work then the problem is most likely hardware issues.
     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #8
    Put it in DFU connect it to TinyUmbrella, see what it says.

    Upgrading to last 6.1.3 you will loose the untethered JB, at the moment only a tethered JB is available . If you depend on ultrasn0w for unlock you will also loose that when upgrading.

    Try to see were you are first.

    @lewisweekly
    If you don't have good knowledge please refrain from advising people, bad advice might cost them there device, jb or unlock.
     
  9. lewisweekly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Location:
    Cambridge area
    #9
    @TriJetHero, an iphone 3G cannot be updated to IOS 5 no matter IOS 6.1.3 so he has no need to worry about losing an un-tethered JB, not to mention that he did state he didn't mind losing the JB and I was simply showing him a way to get back to factory settings.
     
  10. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #10
    Need help with stuck iphone 3G.

    4.2.1 is the last for the 3G.

    Which indeed can be jailbroken.

    Restoring will initially lead to losing the JB an possibly the unlock.
    It is always better to save what you have before restoring to new firmware
     
  11. lewisweekly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Location:
    Cambridge area
    #11
    So why did you bring up untethered 6.1.3 Jailbreaks in your last post? :confused:
     
  12. nachocone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #12
    Hi guys,
    Thanks for your help to both of you!

    Yesterday I downloaded all firmwares with snowbreeze, made the custom firmware and tried to update with each of the versions. All I got was 1600, 1602 or 1604 errors depending on the firmware I used.

    I donwloaded Tinyumbrella but dont really understand what to do with ir except putting de device into pwnd dfu.

    I will also download redsn0w and see what I can do with it. I had the pone on my hands on saturday working great, so it should have a solution.

    and I actually want to loose the jailbreak and unlock becase I want to make an IMEI unlock once the pone is on Factory settings.

    Thanks!
     
  13. nachocone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #13
    Ok, so Im really frustrated by now.

    I made custom firmwares all thru ios 3.1.37 to 4.2.1 with Sn0wbreeze and even made a custom ipsw of 4.2.1 with redsn0w.

    I've succesfully entered iTunes un DFU mode, loaded the custom ipsw's on the Shift+Restore screen, and all I get is error messages 1600, 1602, 1604 or even 32.

    Im guessing by now that the iPhone I bought was jailbroken with the ipad baseband, but what I do not understand is why I cant restore to a custom ipsw.

    I've even swtiched to older versión cables to see if that was the Issue, with no luck.

    I just dont know what to do by now.
     
  14. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #14
    The iPad baseband is known to cause problems. I'm not too sure about unlocking for the iPhone 3G so I can't really advise for anything

    I didn't even know the 3G could be flashed to the iPad baseband. Assuming that is true, you will need to downgrade it

    Take what I said with a grain of salt
     
  15. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #15
  16. nachocone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #16
    well, I actually dont know what I did or How I did it, but I made some progress.

    Being fed up as was I decided to try from scratch. I started restoring from the 3.1.37 firmware version I had. As always I received the 1015 error message and then moved on to the custom version of the 3.1.37. At the end I got a 1602 error message, but I noticed that the recovery screen was different. The usb plug did not appear to be the new square plug, but the old half rounded plug. At that moment I changed cables to the old plug and I dont know why I opened redsn0w and pressed on Jailbreak to see if I could recover anything.

    Well, magic happened at that moment, I dont know if I activated or I hacktivated, but the activation screen appeared asking me to insert a valid sim and connect to iTunes. I put a Movistar SIM I had from my work and at that moment iTunes told me the SIM was not a valid SIM to activate.

    Therefore I understand that at this moment I am with the original factory version of the 3.1.37 and that I can make an IMEI unlock of the phone so that I can activate it and start using it.

    Thanks everyone for your help.

    Regards,
    Ignacio
     
  17. nachocone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #17

Share This Page