need help with text size on new MBP please

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tm0000, Oct 17, 2018.

  1. tm0000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    #1
    So, I just received my new 15 inch 2018 MBP and for some reason the text is smaller than my 15 inch mid2014 rMBP. I'm not referring to the text on web pages... I'm talking about the system text like system preferences, menu bars etc..

    I have the display resolution set to default for display on both machines.. I can't figure out why the font is smaller on my new MBP?

    I'd really appreciate some help, please.

    Thanks
     
  2. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    It is common when going to a higher resolution screen.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    You may have scaling turned on in your old MBP (System Preferences->Displays). Here's mine w/o any scaling.
    2018-10-18_06-15-39.png

    The resolution is the same between the 2014 and 2018 MBP, so I suspect its some other factor.
     
  4. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #4
    My error.

    My older version of Adobe Photoshop suffer this problem and some of the menu items are so small you can not read. Looked fine on my older devices.,
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I frequently play with the scaling, so I figured that's what is up with the OP, and I had both of my laptops (2012 and 2018) side by side when I first got them. I turn on scaling on occasion because I have old eyes :)
     
  6. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #6
    I have tried changing scaling but it has it's problems, too.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    I've been pleased with the scaling in macOS. It works better then in windows. Remote desktop apps for instance do not handle scaling well and the cursor, and text is tiny in remote computers even though those look fine in the host computer. I'm happy how I have windows configured on my MBP today, so its really a complaint of when I was using my iMac with the 5k display. The issues were more pronounced. I find myself in windows about 50% of the time and increasing at this point
     
  8. fokmik macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    yes, until the 2016 new MBP the default was 900p, now we have 1050p, so if you want the same experience like the 2012-2015 MBP scaled one down to 900p
     
  9. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #9
    Yep my problems is likely how BootCamp handles Windows as that is what I use 95% of the time. It is not a big problem as it seems newer software like Office does not suffer this problem.
     
  10. tm0000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    #10
    Both of the old and new MBP's screen resolution is set to default.

    Thanks for your replies!
     
  11. Hadron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #11
    Is it the same default though? The default on my new 13" is equivalent to "more space" scaling on my 2013 model.
     
  12. tm0000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    #12
    How would I check if it’s the same default? It says default for display.

    By the way, my mid2014 MBP has a retina display.

    Thanks for replying.

     
  13. Hadron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #13
    My 2013 is a "retina" model too - I think they introduced those in 2012.

    It's really obvious between my old and new 13" because when you select the "scaled" option in the display preferences the 2013 model has the second of the 4 options as default, the 2018 model has the third. In fact I always had the 3rd option set in my 2013, so the new one looks "right" to me by default, but if I'd used the 2013's default the new one would have looked smaller.
     

Share This Page

12 October 17, 2018