Need help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by iLoyal, May 24, 2011.

  1. iLoyal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #1
    Hey people, I recently bought my friend a JB'ed and unlocked Iphone 3G with 4.2.1 Firmware and myself have never dealt with JB or unlock on iPhone 3G/3GS.

    So can someone be kind enough to give me the link/instruction to how to JB and unlock his iPhone 3G with 4.2.1?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #3
  3. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #4
    Yeah. Once you upgrade to the iPad baseband then you can only update to a newer iOS with a custom firmware.
     
  4. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #5
    Thanks! :] Will update when I face any issues, but there shouldn't be any.
     
  5. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #6
  6. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #7
  7. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #8
    Thanks for helping Labman, but I am so confused with the 3G/3GS pwnagetools, etc. >< Can't find the 4.2.1 Redsnow to jailbreak. :p
     
  8. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #9
    The latest one should work.
     
  9. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #10
    Like above latest one should work. but older version are listed on the page just keep going down the page.
     
  10. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #11
    Thanks... >< So downloaded redsnow and the 4.2.1 patch, did everything I am supposed to do, but the warning wont come up... Feel like I am just jailbreaking the device.
     
  11. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #12
    Did you check the box to install the ipad baseband? After you check the box and click the next, the warning will pop up confirming you want to do so.
     
  12. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #13
    You are only jailbreaking it there is no unlock for 4.2.1 sorry I guess we thought you knew this. I think you should do more reading before jailbreaking. Pawnage tool to unlock along with iPad base band and ultrasn0w. Fully underStand before you do it.
     
  13. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #14
    Doesn't this first message have the tutorial for unlocking that version?

    Specifically that article links here at the end where you actually do the unlock portion..
     
  14. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #15
    Wow, calm down guys, I know that it will require iPad baseband and I fully understand that I'll lose GPS, blah blah blah. It don't matter to me, I just want it to be unlocked. And after I jb'ed there wasnt a box which said "Install Ipad BB." So I am currently using a Mac, do I need pwntage tool to unlock? Wasnt sure because I've never dealt with 3G/3GS before. Thanks guys for the fast response!
     
  15. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #16
    Thanks for the link, I've tried that last night and just wont stop "Searching...."
     
  16. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #17
    You said in your first post you bought the iPhone unlocked/jailbroken already.

    Click on settings, general settings, about and scroll to modem firmware and see what the baseband is.
     
  17. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
  18. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #19
    Yes, after I add the source, I searched ultrasnow and installed it.
     
  19. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #20
    Yea, bastard friend didnt check the dam phone.... It's 5.15. Dont care about losing features as long as these works:Incoming/Outcoming call/text, ipod, safari, camera.
     
  20. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #21
    Did you try turning off 3G?
     
  21. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #22
    At first I thought that was the cause of it, until I checked and 3G is off.
     
  22. iLoyal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #23
    Wow! Thanks people! ^^ I got tired and just went crazy on the phone, tried every options and even restored/locked my phone. I figured, it's just a dam 3G, so what if I trash it. Afterward, I did a little research, learned everything(most) about 3G/3GS and I hackivated it without a simcard and JB/Unlocked it. ^^ Hands on is always better.

    Things I learned: PwnageTool/Custom IPSW/Redsnow/iPad BB, etc.

    Thanks for all help people. :]
     
  23. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #24
    1,000,000+ hands on it by far the best way. This is the best way to become a expert or at least confident in what you are doing. It will also help in dealing with problems. Plus you feel a hell of allot better when you do it yourself. :D
     

Share This Page