need help.

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by pound4pound30, May 12, 2010.

  1. pound4pound30 macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #1
    So I sold my iPhone 3g for $300 in preparation for the new iPhone and I am getting ready to ship it out. I went to erase all content and settings last night at 8pm figuring it would take a little while. It is now 2pm and it is still not done.

    I put it on ebay as 3.1.2 jailbroken and unlocked.

    What can I do to fix this, I want to send it out today.
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    I think 'wait' is the only advice that's worth a damn.
     
  3. countrydweller macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #3
    Turn on erase all data after ten attempts, then enter the passcode wrong eleven times. Haven't tried it, but it should work.
     
  4. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #4
    Hold down powe and home button will force it to qyite then restore in itunes.
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    Huh? The phone has been reset.

    OP, it usally takes several hours. Yours is taking WAY too long, but you have no choice but to wait.
     
  6. pound4pound30 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #6
    Yea its been like 18hrs. I heard something like it takes 1hr per gb of space. And this iphone is only 8gb, so i figured 8hrs at most
     
  7. pound4pound30 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #7
    dont want to have to restore. I dont wanna update to 3.1.3
     
  8. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    You could just send it. By the time it gets where it's going it'll either finish or the battery will be dead.
     
  9. pound4pound30 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #9
    I cant do that I have to jailbreak and unlock it still when it is done, should I have the sim card out?

    All that it keeps doing is showing the apple symbol then a little circle of lines like its loading but the lines are not moving. Then the screen will shut off and do it all over again
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    Hell if I know. When I do an erase all, I'm handing it to Apple and don't care what happens to it. Why did you do an erase all in the first place? A DFU restore and setting up as new would have accomplished the same thing for all intents and purposes.
     
  11. pound4pound30 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #11
    Because putting it in dfu i would of had to restore it to the newest firmware 3.1.3 and i would want to keep it in 3.1.2
     
  12. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #12
    One word: PwnageTool. This would have been perfect for you. No?

    I currently have a 3G, jailbroke with PwnageTool to 3.1.2, but not unlocked yet, because I choose not to. Baseband 5.11.07 and Bootloader 5.09.
     
  13. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Then manually restore to 3.1.2
     

Share This Page