Need helps to choose a Mac for video editing

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by moreforus, Nov 16, 2011.

1. moreforus macrumors newbie

Hello everyone,

Been reading Macrumors forums since a few months, I enjoyed it:) and decided to register today !

Up till now, I was satisfied with my "old" macpro. But I need a new computer I will use in a digital video project, typically short HD movies of 15-20 min with effects such as chromakeying. I am planning to use FCP X and Motion 5, perhaps Boinx TV.
    I have a limited budget (2500 $ approximately), I would like advices concerning which would be the perfect mac for these softwares ( I am a complete newbie concerning video software )?
    I was thinking about
    1) macbook pro 17" 2.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 8GB 750 GB HD
    2) iMac 21" 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 8GB 1TB HD
    3) Mac mini server # 2.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 8GB 750GB HD + 256GB SSD

Do you think I should get a discrete graphic card ? Will 512 MB of VRAM be sufficient, should I get more VRAM ? Is the HD3000 powerful enough for chroma keying ? Would it help concerning rendering time to have a Promise Pegasus R4 4TB (4x1TB) RAID System ? Or a Matrox MXO2 Mini MAX ?

What do you think ? I really appreciate your help.

PS sorry if I did not choose the right forum and for my english :eek:

2. jedimed macrumors newbie

My 2 cents

Based on barefeats.com, you'll want a discrete graphics solution for what you are doing:

http://www.barefeats.com/wst10g12.html

Really, the MBP or the iMac are your best bets.

I've got a Core i7 2011 iMac, and I love it. It manages what you're taking about with ease. The Pegasus array likely won't make any difference in rendering, based on available benchmarks. It's better to use that money towards a better video solution. An SSD upgrade, while expensive, will also make the machine feel much snappier.

Hope this helps!

3. moreforus thread starter macrumors newbie

MBP or Imac 21" for FCP X & Motion 5